Tom Curry Rugby World Cup 2023

England against Argentina. Photo: Backpagepix

Argentina v England: Who will win bronze medal? Have your say!

Argentina v England: Who will win the penultimate World Cup game to finish third in the tournament and take home the bronze medal?

Tom Curry Rugby World Cup 2023

England against Argentina. Photo: Backpagepix

Beaten semi-finalists Argentina and England will clash in a rematch of their Pool D encounter when they meet in the third-place bronze medal playoff on Friday.

Rugby World Cup live scoring | Bronze final: Argentina v England

Argentina v England: Setting the scene for the bronze battle

The two defeated semi-finalists have had about a week to pick themselves up from their disappointment, and prepare for the bronze final, the penultimate match of Rugby World Cup 2023, and a curtain raiser to the showpiece match on Saturday.

Argentina will be the first to admit they were second best against New Zealand in Saint-Denis last Friday – but that just means they have a major point to prove against England, here, as they look to send veterans Agustín Creevy and Nicolás Sánchez from the Rugby World Cup stage with a deserved medal around their necks.

ALSO READ | All Blacks to unleash big Brodie on Springboks in Rugby World Cup final

England, too, after coming so close to beating defending champions South Africa on Saturday, will want to sign off from a tournament that has exceeded expectations with one more win – and give the likes of Dan Cole, Danny Care and Ben Youngs one last Rugby World Cup hurrah.

ALSO READ | All Blacks to counter Springboks bench with own version of Bomb Squad


Let us know who you think will win tonight’s bronze medal Test match and why by clicking on the comment tab at the bottom of this article or by emailing or sending a WhatsApp to 060 011 021 1.

You can also follow @TheSAnews on Twitter and The South African on Facebook for the latest 2023 Rugby World Cup news.

ALSO READ | Rugby World Cup bronze playoff preview: Argentina v England


Argentina — Juan Cruz Mallia; Emiliano Boffelli, Lucio Cinti, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Mateo Carreras; Santiago Carreras, Tomas Cubelli; Thomas Gallo, Julian Montoya (captain), Francisco Gómez Kodela; Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Pedro Rubiolo; Juan Martin Gonzalez, Marcos Kremer, Facundo Isa.
Subs: Agustín Creevy, Joel Sclavi, Eduardo Bello, Matias Alemanno, Rodrigo Bruni, Lautaro Bazan Velez, Nicolás Sánchez, Matías Moroni.

England — Marcus Smith; Freddie Steward, Joe Marchant, Manu Tuilagi, Henry Arundell; Owen Farrell (captain), Ben Youngs; Ellis Genge, Theo Dan, Will Stuart; Maro Itoje, Ollie Chessum; Tom Curry, Sam Underhill, Ben Earl.
Subs: Jamie George, Bevan Rodd, Dan Cole, David Ribbans, Lewis Ludlam, Danny Care, George Ford, Ollie Lawrence.

ALSO READ | Rugby World Cup fixtures, time, prediction, live scores and result: England vs Argentina

ALSO READ | Statement wars — SA Rugby’s classy response to England Rugby’s antagonistic stance

Argentina v England in Rugby World Cup copy
England on attack against Argentina. Photo: World Rugby.