WhatsApp, WhatsApp news, tips and tricks, social media tips, privacy settings for WhatsApp, online settings for WhatsApp, new features on WhatsApp

WhatsApp released a new feature that allows users to choose who can and can’t see when they’re online. Photo: Stock Image / Pixabay

New feature allows you to use WhatsApp – WITHOUT appearing online!

WhatsApp introduced a new feature recently that allows users to choose who can and can’t see when they’re online – here’s the details…

WhatsApp, WhatsApp news, tips and tricks, social media tips, privacy settings for WhatsApp, online settings for WhatsApp, new features on WhatsApp

WhatsApp released a new feature that allows users to choose who can and can’t see when they’re online. Photo: Stock Image / Pixabay

WhatsApp has introduced a new feature that will allow you to decide who can see when you’re online.

Choose who can see when you’re online

In August, WhatsApp released the news of its new ‘online presence’ privacy setting.

The company stated that they would be introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online soon.

On 3 November, WhatsApp’s official Twitter handle shared the news that this option is officially available!

How do I use this option?

It’s actually more simple than it may sound. Just follow these six easy steps and you’re good to go!

Step 1:

Open up WhatsApp and head over to the ‘settings’ option. 

To access this, click on the three vertical dots on the top right of your screen on the app then look for ‘settings’.

Step 2: 

Now that you’re on ‘settings’ look for the option that says ‘account’ and click on it.

On most devices, this should be the first option placed under your profile picture and display name.

Step 3: 

After clicking on ‘account’ look for the ‘privacy’ option and click on that.

The option should have a lock beside the word privacy.

Step 4: 

Look for ‘Last seen and online’. Click on this option.

Step 5: 

After clicking on ‘Last seen and online’ there will be two options with two lists. The first option says ‘who can see my last seen’.

The second option says ‘who can see when I’m online’ and has two options which are:

  • Everyone
  • Same as last seen.

In order to select who can and can’t see the above options, click on ‘my contacts except’.

Once you’ve hit that option, your contact list will appear.

Step 6:

Now all you have to do is select the names of people you’re NOT keen on knowing when you’re online or when you were last seen.

Once you’ve selected those names you can go back to the ‘who can see when I’m online‘ option and click on ‘same as last seen‘.

Here’s a quick video tutorial to help you out: 

Sit back and relax knowing you can have a look at who posted a new status or just take a peep at the app without anyone knowing you’re online!

ALSO READ: How to read WhatsApp messages WITHOUT notifying the sender!