municipal ward by-elections

File Image

Recent municipal ward by-elections result in losses for the DA

Wards in Potchefstroom and Clanwilliam turn their backs on the DA.

municipal ward by-elections

File Image

The Democratic Alliance (DA) lost two more municipal wards in by-elections this week – one to the Freedom Front Plus (FF) and another to the African National Congress (ANC).

The party also held on to three municipal wards while the ANC retained five wards.

The two wards the DA lost were in Potchefstroom in the North West province, and in Clanwilliam in the Western Cape West Coast region.

DA loses votes to Freedom Front Plus in Potch

In Potchefstroom’s Miederpark suburb (ward 2 of the JB Marks municipality) the DA’s former provincial leader, Chris Hattingh, saw half his party’s vote fall away to the Freedom Front Plus. The FF Plus’ Everhardus Laing took 677 votes to the DA’s 489. The ANC came in third with 424 votes while the EFF got 33.

Clanwilliam town forms the centre of ward 3 in the Cederberg municipality. The new councillor is Maxwell Heins, who took the ward from the DA by 1 880 votes to 1 143. A local party called the ADC received 172 votes, followed by the ACDP on 18 and the EFF with 13 votes.

Further down the West Coast lies the town of Langebaan, which forms ward 14 of the Saldanha Bay municipality. The DA’s Wilhelm America kept the ward blue, with 797 votes, followed by the ANC on 376, the Residents’ Association on 206, the Cape Party with 34 votes, the Conservative Party on 2 votes and the EFF, which only got one vote.

The DA kept ward 1 in the Ga-Segonyana municipality, which is the town of Kuruman in the Northern Cape. DA candidate Abraham van der Westhuizen received 853 votes versus 298 for the FF Plus, 235 for the ANC, 46 for an independent candidate and 13 for the EFF.

DA candidate Johannes Green held on to Buffalo City ward 19 (West Bank and surrounds in East London). He polled 1 422 votes to 524 for the ANC, 29 for the EFF and 27 for the ACDP.

Rural Eastern Cape wards easy pickings for the ANC

Two wards in the rural Eastern Cape proved easy pickings for the ANC. Engcobo ward 15 voters live in a deep rural area of the former Transkei and elected Thembinkosi Ngxangani (ANC) by 1 156 votes to 90 for the UDM and 49 for the EFF.

King Sabata Dalindyebo municipality centres on the former Transkei capital of Mthatha and its ward 29 lies on its rural periphery. The ANC’s Mlawuli Marasha took the ward by 1 756 votes to 1 040 for the UDM and 30 for the EFF.

Staying in the Eastern Cape, we move down to the township of KwaZakhele in Port Elizabeth and another easy ANC victory. Its candidate, Mzimkhulu Ngabase, took 2 088 votes in Nelson Mandela Bay ward 20. The UDM came in second with 434 votes, followed by the EFF (215), the DA (177), the Socialist Revolutionary Workers’ Party (113). an independent (103) and the ACDP (3 votes).

Two wards in KwaZulu Natal also held by-elections. Umsunduzi ward 18 is a predominantly Zulu and Indian area on the outskirts of Pietermatitzburg, which elected Mabhungu Mkhize (ANC) by 3 013 votes to 396 for the EFF.

Ward 10 of the uBuhlebezwe municipality is a rural area between Ixopo and Highflats, where ANC candidate Nkosinathi Mgcongo polled 976 votes to 252 for the IFP and 54 for the EFF.