Ntando Mncube

Actor Ntando Mncube. Image via Instagram @ntando7807

‘Shaka ILembe’ star Ntando Mncube celebrates award nomination

‘Shaka ILembe’ and ‘The Wife’ actor Ntando Mncube has landed an award nomination for his role in ‘Isifiso’.

Ntando Mncube

Actor Ntando Mncube. Image via Instagram @ntando7807

Much-loved actor Ntando Mncube has reacted after receiving a nomination nominated for the 10th Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards.

The actor is nominated in the best actor category for his role as Mhlengi in Isifiso – an M-Net Original drama series.

ALSO READ: ‘Deeply humbled’: Minnie scores first award nomination as actress


In a post on his Instagram account, Mncube expressed gratitude for the nomination and thanked the show’s producer Chris Q Radebe, whom many know as Dabula on Isibaya.

“What an honour to be recognised for this role, thank you to my amazing producer Chris Q Radebe. It is through your direction that Mhlengi is now a household name. I am speechless, but truly grateful to God for his divine blessings … and congrats to my fellow nominees,” he wrote.

He is nominated alongside Sdumo Mtshali as Muzi Phakathwayo in The Estate, Sphesihle Vazi as Mlungisi Khoza in The Queen, and Thembinkosi Mthembu as Mabutho in The River.

ALSO READ: ‘Shaka ILembe’: BCCSA rules against complaint on bare-breasted cast


Mncube’s characters are a favourite among viewers, especially his role in Showmax series, The Wife, and Mzansi Magic’s IsiZulu series Shaka ILembe.

Both dramas also feature his younger, brother, Wiseman Mncube.

ALSO READ: ‘Shaka ILembe’ creator was working on EFF doccie before passing


The Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards recognise outstanding achievement and excellence within the South African Film and Television industry, with a special focus on KwaZulu-Natal.

ALSO READ: ‘The Wife’: Wiseman Mncube takes over as ‘dark & abusive’ Mqhele

The main event will be held on Saturday, 22 July, under the theme, “Honoring Excellence – A Decade of Simon Mabhunu Sabela Awards”.