Orlando Pirates Nedbank Cup

Mofokeng in action for Pirates in the DStv Premiership. Image: BackpagePix

Nedbank Cup quarterfinals weekend – Here are the fixtures

Forget about the DStv Premiership this weekend. The 2024 Nedbank Cup quarterfinals have arrived. Looks look at the fixtures.

Orlando Pirates Nedbank Cup

Mofokeng in action for Pirates in the DStv Premiership. Image: BackpagePix

We are fast approaching the 2024 Nedbank Cup final. The quarterfinal round is coming this weekend, and it will feature big boys like Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns. Is another final between the Buccaneers and Kabo Yellow coming our way? Or will the likes of Stellenbosch FC, SuperSport United, TS Galaxy and Chippa United have a big say?


The final 16 round delivered all the excitement we needed. The University of Pretoria, playing in the lower Motsepe Foundation Championship (MFC) side, sent out DStv Premiership side Moroka Swallows at the Tuks Stadium, thanks to a 2-1 victory.

Sekhukhune United and AmaZulu met in all-DStv Premiership battle in Polokwane. Usuthu’s Ivorian striker Junior Dion scored in the 26th minute before Sepana Letsaolo made it 2-0 to book a place in the Nedbank Cup quarters.

Stellenbosch FC humbled the Kaizer Chiefs slayers Milford FC 6-1 at the Princess Magogo Stadium in KwaMashu, Durban. Anicet Oura and Ryan De John scored a brace each for Stellies, while Man of the Match Iqraam Rayners laid four assists. In Durban, SuperSport United thrashed Richards Bay 3-1 at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Umlazi, while Chippa United also booked a Nedbank Cup last eight place with a 2-1 win over second-division dreamers Ravens.

Current Nedbank Cup champions Orlando Pirates won 4-0 against third division side Hungry Lions. More action took place in Bloemfontein, where D’General lost 3-0 to TS Galaxy, while a brace from Thembinkosi Lorch earned Mamelodi Sundowns a 2-0 win over Maritzburg United in Attridgeville, Tshwane.


The action will begin in Tshwane, where AmaTuks will host Sundowns on Friday, 12 April. The weekend will then conclude on Sunday, 14 April, in Mbombela, where TS Galaxy will host Chippa United.

  • University of Pretoria vs Mamelodi Sundowns: Friday, 12 April at the Lucas Moripe Stadium at 19:00
  • Stellenbosch FC vs SuperSport United: Saturday, 13 April at the Danie Craven Stadium at 15:00
  • AmaZulu vs Orlando Pirates: Saturday, 13 April at the Moses Mabhida Stadium at 18:00
  • TS Galaxy vs Chippa United: Sunday, 14 April at the Mbombela Stadium at 15:00.

Last 10 Winners of the Nedbank Cup:

  • Kaizer Chiefs – 2013
  • Orlando Pirates – 2014
  • Mamelodi Sundowns – 2015
  • SuperSport United – 2016
  • SuperSport United – 2017
  • Free State Stars – 2018
  • TS Galaxy – 2019
  • Mamelodi Sundowns – 2020
  • Marumo Gallants – 2021
  • Mamelodi Sundowns – 2022
  • Orlando Pirates – 2023.

Who will win this season’s Nedbank Cup title? Let us know in the comments section below.