Embrose Papier of Bulls runs in to score a try. Photo: Chris Fairweather/Huw Evans/Shutterstock via Backpagepix

URC LIVE: Edinburgh vs Bulls Friday 17 November 2023

Follow live as the Bulls take on Edinburgh in United Rugby Championship action from 21:35 on Friday.


Embrose Papier of Bulls runs in to score a try. Photo: Chris Fairweather/Huw Evans/Shutterstock via Backpagepix

The Bulls could turn a good tour into a great tour with a positive result in Edinburgh.

There is plenty of South African flavour to Edinburgh who sport Springbok hooker Akker van der Merwe’s brother and also former Sharks coach Sean Everitt.

Edinburgh vs Bulls: LIVE scores

Scores from Flashscore.

ALSO READ: Who are the tallest Springboks in history

Jake White expects the Bulls to met with fire.

“It’s going to be a tough game for us considering we are into our fourth week of the tour which is always tough because people start making plans about going back to South Africa,” Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White said.

ALSO READ: When will Springboks be available for the URC?

“So there are a lot of things we are going to have to make sure we get right [on Friday].”

Edinburgh welcome back more international this week with Jamie Ritchie a notable inclusion.

ALSO READ: How tall is Siya Kolisi

“The return of Ritchie will also be a massive boost for them who has been away after the World Cup,” White conceded.

“They are generally always there or thereabout in the top eight, they are not a team that surprises everybody by finishing in the top part of the draw.”

ALSO READ: How the Springboks use tech to gain a performance edge


Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 James Lang, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Ben Vellacott, 8 Viliame Mata, 7 Connor Boyle, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Glen Young, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ewan Ashman, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Replacements: 16 Dave Cherry, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Javan Sebastian, 19 Marshall Sykes, 20 Tom Dodd, 21 Ali Price, 22 Cammy Scott, 23 Chris Dean

Bulls: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 David Kriel, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Marcell Coetzee (Captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp

Replacements: 16 Simphiwe Matanzima, 17 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 24 Cyle Brink

Referee: Chris Busby (Ireland)

Assistant referees: Ru Campbell (Scotland), Michael Todd (Scotland)

TMO: Eoghan Cross (Ireland)