Crusaders super Rugby 2023 title win graphic

The Crusaders are the 2023 Super Rugby champions. Photo: Crusaders via Twitter.

Crusaders crowned Super Rugby Pacific champions

It was despair for the Chiefs as the Crusaders won yet another Super Rugby title on Saturday.

Crusaders super Rugby 2023 title win graphic

The Crusaders are the 2023 Super Rugby champions. Photo: Crusaders via Twitter.

The Crusaders were crowned Super Rugby Pacific champions after clinching a 25-20 come-from-behind victory over the Chiefs in Hamilton on Saturday.

Crusaders unleashed a heady mix of precision and power to beat Blues and collect their 12th Super Rugby title.

The prediction that the decider between these two fierce New Zealand rivals would be a closely-fought affair proved correct, as Crusaders scored 10 points in the late in the game to snatch victory in dramatic fashion.

The result sees the Crusaders win a seventh consecutive Super Rugby title and a record-extending 12th title overall.

ALSO READ: Stormers coach labels Leinster ‘the Crusaders of the North’


Codie Taylor crossed twice for the Crusaders as he became the competition’s leading forward try-scorer, while teammate Richie Mo’unga went over for their only other try in the match.

Shaun Stevenson and Emoni Narawa scored the Chiefs’ tries, which Damian McKenzie converted as well as adding two penalties in a narrow defeat.

More to follow…

Crusaders beat Chiefs in 2023 Super Rugby title score graphic photo Super Rugby
Crusaders beat Chiefs in final to win title. Photo: Super Rugby.

ALSO READ: Super Rugby final preview | Chiefs vs Crusaders — what you need to know


Chiefs: 15 Shaun Stevenson, 14 Emoni Narawa, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber o-(co-captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Pita Gus Sowakula, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 George Dyer, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.
Replacements: 16 Tyrone Thompson, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 John Ryan, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Samipeni Finau, 21 Cortez Ratima, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Rameka Poihipi..

Crusaders: 15 Will Jordan, 14 Dallas McLeod, 13 Braydon Ennor, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 Leicester Fainga’anuku, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Mitch Drummond, 8 Christian Lio-Willie, 7 Tom Christie, 6 Sione Havili Talitui, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett (captain), 3 Oli Jager, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Tamaiti Williams.
Replacements: 16 George Bell, 17 Kershawl Sykes-Martin, 18 Reuben O’Neill, 19 Quinten Strange, 20 Dom Gardiner, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 Fergus Burke, 23 Chay Fihaki.