super rugby 2020 fixtures

Hanro Liebenberg of the Bulls in action during the 2019 Super Rugby season. Photo: Anton Geyser/Gallo Images

Super Rugby 2020 fixtures: Sharks host Bulls in first SA derby

The Super Rugby schedule for the 2020 season sees the Bulls tackling the Sharks in the year’s first South African derby.

super rugby 2020 fixtures

Hanro Liebenberg of the Bulls in action during the 2019 Super Rugby season. Photo: Anton Geyser/Gallo Images

Derby day gets things underway in the 2020 season of Super Rugby.

With some months to go before the tournament returns for another season, SANZAAR has revealed what’s in store for rugby lovers by issuing out the match schedule.

The action begins slightly earlier than usual, with a January start rather than the February kick-off we’ve become accustomed to.

Exciting start to new season

The opening day, Friday 31 January, features three local derbies, starting in New Zealand where the Blues welcome the Chiefs to Auckland.

This is followed by the all-Aussie clash featuring the Brumbies and the Reds.

South African eyes will be fixed at the derby clash in Durban, where the Sharks and the Bulls will renew rivalries, with kick off at 19:10.

The next sighting of a South African team is on Saturday, where the Stormers welcome the Hurricanes to the Mother City, while the Lions trek off to Argentina for a battle against last season’s runners-up the Jaguares.

The upcoming season is a unique one, as it will be running uninterrupted after World Rugby moved its international window from June to July.

“With all this in mind, we have again worked with the national unions and teams through this complex logistical process to provide a draw that is fair and equitable,” commented SANZAAR chief Andy Marinos.

“Competition for quarter-final places this year was as close as it has ever been with three teams missing the eight-team quarter-finals by two points or less after 120 tournament matches, and we expect the same in 2020. “The schedule has 21 match venues confirmed and it is exciting that Vodacom Super Rugby will once again venture into several new venues and cities.

“It has been confirmed that Hanazono Stadium, Osaka and Level Five Stadium, Fukuoka in Japan will host Sunwolves matches, while the Waratahs will play at WIN Stadium, Wollongong in Australia.”

Andy Marinos, SANZAAR chief executive

The tournament will see each team play 16 round-robin matches, facing every team in its conference twice – home and away – while enjoying two byes.

This will be followed by the cup quarterfinals, with the three conference leaders, playing theirs at home.

Super Rugby 2020 fixtures for the opening weekend

Friday, 31 January 2020

08:05: BLUES    vs CHIEFS


19:10: SHARKS vs BULLS

Saturday 1 February 2020