Springboks team photo

A Springbok team photo. Image: SA Rugby via Twitter.

WATCH: Springbok gets KO’d 10 seconds after kick-off

Springbok left unresponsive after head-on collision in opening 10 seconds of clash against Argentina.

Springboks team photo

A Springbok team photo. Image: SA Rugby via Twitter.

Springbok scrumhalf Grant Williams was carted off the field after he was knocked unconscious just 10 seconds into the Test against Argentina at Ellis Park.

Williams was selected in the Springboks’ run-on XV for his first-ever start in the green and gold. But the match that could’ve been a momentous occasion for him, turned into a nightmare as he was forced to leave the field and indeed the game mere seconds after it started due to a heavy collision that left him sprawled and unresponsive on the field.

ALSO READ: Towering Springbok fires warning shot at ‘feisty’ Pumas

Argentina had been tasked to kick off to start the game and Williams fielded the kick. But as he cleared his lines with a solid exit kick of his own, when Argentina’s Juan Cruz Mallía leapt into the air for an attempted charge down. But his effort was ill-timed and he slammed into the Springbok scrumhalf’s head.

Williams immediately dropped to the ground and received medical treatment before he was carted off the field.


ALSO READ: Springbok brace for brutal battle


Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Grant Williams, 8  Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Lukhanyo Am, 23 Damian Willemse.

Argentina – 15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Mateo Carreras, 13 Lucio Cinti, 12 Santiago Chocobares, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Lautaro Bazan Velez, 8 Juan Martin Gonzalez, 7 Santiago Grondona, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Lucas Paulos, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya (c) 1 Thomas Gallo.
Subs: 16 Ignacio Ruiz, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro,18  Joel Sclavi, 19 Pedro Rubiolo, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Tomas Albornoz, 23 Matias Moroni.

Springboks team
Duane Vermeulen plays his last Springboks game at home. Image: @Springboks