rassie, springboks

Springboks fans have praised Rassie Erasmus for his choice of words.
Images via Instagram:

Cheeky Rassie Erasmus’ latest Twitter gimmick

Rassie Erasmus has pulled off another social media stunt without posting anything specific on his accounts.

rassie, springboks

Springboks fans have praised Rassie Erasmus for his choice of words.
Images via Instagram:

South African director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has become renowned for his regular use of social media, and particularly the platform X – formerly known as Twitter.

ALSO READ | Rassie Erasmus says there is ‘beef between Springboks and England

Amidst ‘racial saga’ involving Springbok hooker Bongi Mbonambi and England loose forward Tom Curry, Rassie Erasmus has silently pledged his support to the South African player.

On Thursday, World Rugby released a statement confirming that their investigation into the racism allegations against Mbonambi didn’t deliver any evidence and that no further action will be taken against the player. The acquittal paved the way for Mbonambi to be selected in the Springboks’ starting lineup for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup final.

ALSO READ | Rassie Erasmus accused of having ‘sociopathic obsession’

But England have since come out and condemned World Rugby’s findings and hinted at laying another complaint of racial abuse against Mbonambi.

And now Rassie Erasmus has joined in on the drama without saying or typing a word.

Instead, the director of rugby simply changed his Twitter header from a South African flag to a photo of Bongi Mbonambi in heat of battle.

ALSO READ | Springboks’ MIND-BLOWING World Cup stat that should encourage South Africans


Rassie Erasmus, Bongi Mbonambi
Rassie Erasmus’ new Twitter header. Photo: Screenshot.

ALSO READ | Rassie tweet borders on ‘sociopathic obsession’ – report


Springboks – 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 RG Snyman, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Jasper Wiese, 23 Willie le Roux.

ALSO READ | Rassie Erasmus teases title change in cheeky dig at World Rugby