Under-18 coach Springboks youngster

The Springboks celebrate. Image via Instagram @moodie_c13

Springbok rugby dominates 17th Annual SA Sports Awards nominations

Siya Kolisi and Eben Etzebeth are both up for two awards after South African rugby scooped no less than 10 nominations in nine categories for the 2024 SA Sports Awards.

Under-18 coach Springboks youngster

The Springboks celebrate. Image via Instagram @moodie_c13

SA Rugby CEO Rian Oberholzer congratulated the Springboks, SA Rugby President Mr Mark Alexander, and the impressive list of rugby-affiliated individuals who were recognised for their excellent achievements in 2023 by being nominated for the prestigious SA Sports Awards.

The nominations were announced on Wednesday evening, with rugby featuring among a star-studded list of candidates in nine of the 22 categories. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at the Sun City Superbowl on Sunday, 5 May.


SA Rugby was nominated in the Sports Federation of the Year category alongside Cricket South Africa and Cycling South Africa, with Mr Alexander being nominated in the Administrator of the Year category, and the Springboks as Team of the Year.

Rugby World Cup-winning Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber, who is currently coaching in Ireland, was named in the Coach of the Year category, while 2023 SA Rugby Men’s Player of the Year Eben Etzebeth – who became only the second player to win the award back-to-back earlier this year – featured in the Sportsman of the Year and People’s Choice Award categories.

Double RWC-winning captain Siya Kolisi was also recognised for his invaluable contribution to the Springbok team by being named as a nominee for Sports Star of the Year, as well as the People’s Choice Award category.

Springbok flyhalf Manie Libbok was listed as one of the nominees for Newcomer of the Year, while SA Rugby’s leading women’s referee Aimee Barrett-Theron was also recognised for her achievements being named in the Technical Officer of the Year section.


Oberholzer congratulated the all the nominees and thanked the tireless efforts of the SA Rugby staff members for their contribution in having the organisation nominated as Federation of the Year.

“Having rugby nominated in nine different categories in the county’s most prestige sports awards, is a massive achievement, and we are proud of each individual for being recognised for their efforts on and off the field,” said Oberholzer.

“This is a testament to the hard work the players, coaches, administrators, match officials and staff put in day after day, and these nominations extend to everyone involved. We wish all of them luck as we look forward to what will be another fantastic awards ceremony.”

SA Sports Awards nominees:

SA Rugby – Federation of the Year
SA Rugby President Mark Alexander – Sports Administrator of the Year
Springboks – Team of the Year
Rugby World Cup-winning coach Jacques Nienaber – Coach of the Year
Eben Etzebeth – Sportsman of the Year and People’s Choice Award
Siya Kolisi – Sports Star of the Year and People’s Choice Award
Manie Libbok – Newcomer of the Year
Rugby referee Aimee Barrett-Theron – Technical Officer of the Year

SA Rugby top team Springboks De Allende
Springbok players. Image: Via Instagram @bokrugby