Ireland vs Springbok team

Johnny Sexton (front) will captain Ireland against the Springboks. Photo: Irish Rugby website.

Team announcement: Ireland to counter Bok Bomb Squad with traditional 5-3 bench split

Coach Andy Farrell has shown his hand when he revealed the Irish lineup for Saturday’s World Cup showdown against the Springboks at the Stade de France.

Ireland vs Springbok team

Johnny Sexton (front) will captain Ireland against the Springboks. Photo: Irish Rugby website.

Bundee Aki will make his 50th Test appearance as Ireland have opted for continuity over innovation for the crunch Rugby World Cup clash against the Springboks.

After opening wins over Romania and Tonga, Ireland continue their Pool B campaign against the defending champions in Paris on Saturday night.

ALSO READ: Springbok boss claps back at 7-1 split critics: ‘They are triggered’

Aki, who made his Ireland debut against the Boks in November 2017, partners Garry Ringrose in midfield for the third consecutive match.

Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe continue in the back three, with captain Jonathan Sexton and Jamison Gibson-Park named at flyhalf and scrumhalf respectively.

Farrell has named an unchanged pack from last weekend’s defeat of Tonga in Nantes. Andrew Porter, Ronan Kelleher and Tadhg Furlong pack down in the front row, with Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan in the second row. Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris complete the starting XV.

Dan Sheehan has returned to fitness to be named on the replacements bench alongside forwards David Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson and Ryan Baird, while Conor Murray, Jack Crowley and Robbie Henshaw provide the backline reinforcements.

ALSO READ: Springboks to end Ireland’s 14-match and 14-month streaks? Yes, if Kolisi has his way!


Ireland – 15 Hugo Keenan; 14 Mack Hansen, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe; 10 Johnny Sexton (c), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park; 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony; 5 James Ryan, 4 Tadhg Beirne; 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 1 Andrew Porter.
Subs: 16 Dan Sheehan, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Ryan Baird, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Jack Crowley, 23 Robbie Henshaw.


Date: Saturday, September 23
Venue: Stade de France, Saint-Denis
Kick-off: 21.00 (19.00 GMT; 21.00 SAST; 20.00 UK & Ireland time)
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (France) & James Doleman (New Zealand)
TMO: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)

Ireland team for Springboks
Ireland’s team to face Springboks in Paris. Photo: Irish Rugby website.