Springboks Canan Moodie 2023 best moments SA Rugby awards

Canan Moodie. Image via Instagram @moodie_c13

Full list: Every winner from the SA Rugby awards

Look back at the full list of winners from the SA Rugby awards, which saw Canan Moodie walk away as the Young Player of the Year for 2023.

Springboks Canan Moodie 2023 best moments SA Rugby awards

Canan Moodie. Image via Instagram @moodie_c13

At a glittering ceremony on Thursday night, an in-person event saw the SA Rugby awards handed out to the top achievers from last year.

There were no major surprises, particularly as Eben Etzebeth again walked away with the main prize of the night, having been named as SA Rugby Men’s Player of the Year. He fought off competition from Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe and Damian Willemse.

There was of course plenty of interest in the ‘young guns’, and ultimately Bulls star Canan Moodie was an understandable choice.

Moodie made his Springbok debut back in 2022, then just 19 years old, scoring a sensational try on his Test debut against Australia. He would go on to feature in three more Tests for South Africa that year, and then carried that form over into 2023.

With Frans Steyn sidelined with a serious knee injury, Moodie booked his ticket to the World Cup as the youngest member of the squad, while also making a notable transition to outside centre.

In total, he started six Tests in 2023, and was consistently one of the best performers for the Bulls. He was one of the big winners at the awards ceremony, along with a host of other deserving prize winners.

SA Rugby Awards 2023 winners and finalists (where applicable):

SA Rugby Men’s Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
Finalists: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe, Damian Willemse

Springbok Women’s Player of the Year: Libbie Janse van Rensburg
Finalists: Aseza Hele, Babalwa Latsha, Rights Mkhari, Nadine Roos

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Canan Moodie (Springboks / Vodacom Bulls)
Finalists: Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers), Jaden Hendrikse (Springboks / Cell C Sharks), Evan Roos (Springboks / DHL Stormers), Ruan Venter (Emirates Lions)

Springbok Sevens Men’s Player of the Year: Ricardo Duarttee
Finalists: Christie Grobbelaar, Shilton van Wyk

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Corne Beets
Finalists: Paul de Villiers, Damian Markus

Team of the Year: Springboks
Finalists: Toyota Cheetahs, DHL Stormers

Coach of the Year: Jacques Nienaber (Springboks)
Finalists: Hawies Fourie (Toyota Cheetahs), John Dobson (DHL Stormers)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Ruan Pienaar (Toyota Cheetahs)
Finalists: Tinus de Beer (Airlink Pumas), Devon Williams (Airlink Pumas)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Cameron Hufke (Boland Kavaliers)
Finalists: Keagan Fortune (Valke), Darian Hock (Boland Kavaliers)

SuperSport Fans’ Moment of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe
Finalists: Bongi Mbonambi, Manie Libbok, Damian Willemse

Provincial Women’s Player of the Year: Libbie Janse van Rensburg (Bulls Daisies)

OUTsurance Referee of the Year: Jaco Peyper

Vodacom United Rugby Championship Fans’ Player of the Season (announced last year): Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers)

SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year: SA Deaf Rugby Association