Proteas World Cup squad selected.

JUST IN: Proteas name World Cup Squad; few names missing

Temba Bavuma will lead the Proteas at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup which takes place in India next month.


Proteas World Cup squad selected.

Proteas have announced their 15-man squad to represent the country at this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Proteas white-ball coach Rob Walter named the 15 players at a special event at Grey College on Tuesday morning.

Captain of the team Temba Bavuma was the first name to be called.

ALSO READ: Proteas legends Jacques Kallis and Faf give World Cup predictions

“Thank you for welcoming us here at the school. We have the opportunity to represent the country at the World Cup. We’ll go out there and do our best and hopefully put the smiles on your faces,” he said.

Bavuma to led the Proteas at the World Cup

The Proteas start the tournament against Sri Lanka on 7 October then Australia (12 October), Netherlands (17 October), England (21 October), Bangladesh (24 October), Pakistan (27 October), New Zealand (1 November), India (5 November) and Afghanistan (10 November).

Former South Africa captain Faf du Plessis warned that adapting to the conditions in the sub-continent would be a challenge for Temba Bavuma and his team.

“South Africa’s white-ball team is in a strong place,” du Plessis said.

ALSO READ: Where is Klusener now? The Zulu who nearly became SA’s ICON

“They’ve got some real experience going into that World Cup.”

“The challenge for all teams that are not from the subcontinent is obviously always the challenge of going to the subcontinent,” said the former Proteas captain. 

Du Plessis says India and Australia are favourites to win the tournament.

ALSO READ: Proteas blackout!!!! No Aussie tour for SABC TV viewers

Here’s the 15 man squad:

Temba Bavuma

Gerald Coetzee

Quinton de Kock

Reeza Hendricks

Marco Janson

Heinrich Klaasen

Sisanda Magala

ALSO READ: ‘Baby AB’ excited to make Proteas debut

Keshav Maharaj

Aiden Markram

David Miller

Lungi Ndigi

Anrich Nortjie

Kagiso Rabada

Tabraiz Shamsi

Rassie van der Dussen

ALSO READ: Rabada says Proteas not paying attention to noise ahead of WC