Temba Bavuma Proteas India vs South Africa

The Proteas have won the toss and elected to bat in the second One-Day International against India on Sunday. Photo: AFP via Getty Images

BREAKING: Bavuma to lead Proteas at T20 World Cup

Temba Bavuma has been named in a powerful Proteas squad for the highly-anticipated T20 World Cup in Australia.

Temba Bavuma Proteas India vs South Africa

The Proteas have won the toss and elected to bat in the second One-Day International against India on Sunday. Photo: AFP via Getty Images

The 2022 T20 World Cup tournament begins on October 16 when the First Round teams do battle, with the final set to be held at the MCG on November 13 as the Proteas go in search of a historic ICC world title.

The South African team has certainly shown some encouraging signs of late as the likes of Rilee Rossouw and Tristan Stubbs have added firepower to the batting lineup, while Tabraiz Shamsi and Lungi Ngidi are world-class bowlers in this format of the game.


On Tuesday, Cricket South Africa officially unveiled the Proteas squad for the World Cup, with Temba Bavuma named to lead the side after recovering from a serious elbow injury.

The 15-player squad and three travelling reserves will also make the trip to India ahead of the tournament for the three-match T20I series later this month.

White-ball captain Temba Bavuma will make his return to the national fold after demonstrating a full recovery from a left elbow injury suffered in the T20I series against India in June.

Rassie van der Dussen has been ruled out of the tournament due to a fracture of his left index finger that he sustained during the second Test against England in Manchester. He will require surgery and is expected to take up to at least six weeks to recover.

All 15 players are capped, with 22-year-old Tristan Stubbs receiving his maiden World Cup call up following an impressive outing in the recent T20I series against England. Other notable selections include Rilee Rossouw and Wayne Parnell, with the selectors naming three travelling reserves in Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

The squad departs for India on 23 September.

Proteas squad:

The Proteas squad for the #T20WorldCup: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton De Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaassen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rilee Russouw, Tristan Stubbs.

Travelling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo #T20WorldCup

South Africa Group Stage Itinerary – ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022 Monday, 24 October – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)

South Africa vs Qualifier B1 – Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Thursday, 27 October – 14:00 (05:00 SAST)

South Africa vs Bangladesh – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 30 October – 19:00 (13:00 SAST)

India vs South Africa – Perth Stadium, Perth

Thursday, 03 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)

Pakistan vs South Africa – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 06 November – 10:30 (02:00 SAST)

South Africa vs Qualifier A2 – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


First semi-final
Wednesday, 9 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD – SCG, Sydney

Second semi-final
Thursday, 10 November – 18:30 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Sunday, 13 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST)
TBD vs TBD – MCG, Melbourne


CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang said: “This has been a really tough squad to select, simply because we had so many players in excellent form over the past few months and performing at a level that made the selectors sit up and notice them.

“Someone like Tristan Stubbs who was not in the frame a year ago has done incredibly well to force his way into the mix based on his performances and his selection should be an inspiration for every young player out there. We are also delighted to welcome back our captain Temba Bavuma from injury and we have no doubt his return will further galvanise the team.

“This group of players showed off their brilliant skill and talent when they overcame England in England recently. These sort of performances only bode well for us heading to the World Cup. Overall we are delighted with mix of players that have been chosen and look forward to watching them represent the country in Australia.”

Here are all the squads announced so far for this year’s tournament:

Super 12 Group 1

Afghanistan: Yet to be announced

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

England: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood. 

Travelling reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills.

New Zealand: Yet to be announced

Super 12 Group B

Bangladesh: Yet to be announced

India: Yet to be announced


First Round Group A

Namibia: Yet to be announced

Netherlands: Yet to be announced

Sri Lanka: Yet to be announced

United Arab Emirates: Yet to be announced

First Round Group B

Ireland: Yet to be announced

Scotland: Yet to be announced

West Indies: Yet to be announced

Zimbabwe: Yet to be announced