Pieter Malan SA A

Pieter Malan. Photo: © Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

Malan stars for SA A, Elgar hits ton for Titans

Pieter Malan struck an unbeaten 157 on day one of the clash between SA A and India, while Dean Elgar impressed for the Titans.

Pieter Malan SA A

Pieter Malan. Photo: © Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

Earlier this month it was confirmed that Malan would lead the SA A four-day squad that will take on India A in a three-match series from 23 November to 9 December.

It serves as a warm-up series of sorts as the Proteas prepare to host India over the festive period, with Malan making the most of his opportunity on Tuesday.

The skipper finished the day with a superb 157* that included 18 boundaries, while Tony de Zorzi also struck a superb 117.

At the close of play, SA A were 343/3, with Jason Smith unbeaten on 51.

Meanwhile, in South Africa’s domestic four-day competition, Test captain Dean Elgar signalled his return to full fitness in style as he was one of four centurions for the Titans, who recently beat Western Province by an innings and 139 runs.

As Malan makes his mark, Elgar also returns to form

“The most important thing was that he got an opportunity to spend time at the crease and he took it. He has had a difficult few weeks so his goal was to make sure he is batting for a long period of time, knowing that if he does that, the runs will come,” Mandla Mashimbyi, Titans coach told ESPNcricinfo.

“Dean just wants to work on a couple of specifics: things like getting into good positions and watching the ball and it’s just about emphasising those points,” Mashimbyi said. “He knows his game well and he has been playing a long time, so with some more time in the middle, he will be ready for the Tests.”

Below is a reminder of the SA A squad, as well as the tour itinerary against India A.

Pieter Malan (captain, GbetsRocks), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Dominic Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Raynard van Tonder (ITEC Knights), Sinethemba Qeshile (Gbets Warriors), Senuran Muthusammy (North West Dragons), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Migael Pretorius (ITEC Knights), Beuran Hendricks (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lutho Sipamla (Imperial Lions), Glenton Stuurman (Gbets Warriors), George Linde (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Jason Smith (Hollywoodbets Dophins), Tony de Zorzi (Six Gun Grill Western Province).


November 2021

Tue 23 – Fri 26                              1st Four-Day                           Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

Mon 29 – Thu 02                          2nd Four-Day                          Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

December 2021

Mon 06 – Thu 09                          3rd Four-Day                           Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein