Proteas Cricket World Cup

Virat Kohli in action for India. Image: @ICC

Live scoring | Cricket World Cup: India v New Zealand semi-final

Keep track of the live scoring as India take on New Zealand in the first Cricket World Cup semi-final on Wednesday.

Proteas Cricket World Cup

Virat Kohli in action for India. Image: @ICC

India’s men haven’t reached any of the last five finals in ICC white-ball World Cups, while New Zealand have never won one, despite reaching three finals in seven years. Something has to give when they meet at the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup at the semi-final stage.

Date and venue: Wednesday 15 November, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. Start time: 10:30am (SA time)

BREAKING: Massive controversy erupts at Cricket World Cup


ALSO READ: “It’s a challenge for Proteas to bat second” admits Bavuma


India versus New Zealand is a mouth-watering prospect as the first semi-final of the tournament throws up a repeat of the 2019 semi at Old Trafford in Manchester.

New Zealand denied India in a nail-biting classic on that occasion, with Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni’s fightback proving not quite enough to deny the Kiwis a spot in the final.

India’s progression to this semi-final has been even more serene that it was in England four years ago, with Rohit Sharma’s side winning all nine games and rarely even looking like being challenged on their path to the knockout stages.

History beckons for an India side who are looking for a first major tournament win in 12 years, and where better for this semi-final to be held than at the venue where India won their last Cricket World Cup back in 2011.

This generation of New Zealand cricketers are the nearly-side of the white-ball game, with many of the players to have lost the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup final in 2021 and Cricket World Cup finals in 2015 and 2019 still involved in the set-up.

ALSO READ: Proteas: Temba Bavuma injury sparks furious debate


India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

MUST READ | Dale Steyn: Angelo Mathews’ ‘timed out’ dismissal ‘not cool’