Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup final is upon. Photo: X

LIVE SCORING | Cricket World Cup final: Australia shock India

Look back at the live scoring in the Cricket World Cup final as Australia claimed a stunning six wicket win over hosts India on Sunday.

Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup final is upon. Photo: X

It all came down to this, the Cricket World Cup final between home nation India against big match masters Australia.

Although India were favourites, perhaps the pressure got to them as they ultimately could only manage a total of 240 runs after an uncharacteristically unconvincing batting performance.

In reply, Australia lost three early wicket, but Travis Head then struck a stunning century to lead his side to a historic victory.

ALSO READ: Proteas: Did they choke … again? Coach offers his answer!

You can look back at the Cricket World Cup live scoring below:

Records on the line

There are a host of records and milestones set to be broken during the final and India get the chance to create history if they can defeat Australia and claim a third title.

QUESTION | How much is the prize money for the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

ALSO READ: Empty arrivals hall ‘welcomes’ Proteas on return to SA


– If Australia win yet another World Cup trophy – having previously tasted success in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015 – they will have won six World Cup titles, which is easily the most of any country.

– Pat Cummins has a total of 32 wickets in World Cups and four more scalps against India will see the Australia captain surpass fellow quick Brett Lee (35) and become the third-highest wicket-taker for Australia in the history of the tournament.

– Adam Zampa is Australia’s leading wicket-taker at this year’s tournament with 22 scalps and a five-wicket haul against India will see the spinner equal Mitchell Starc (27 in 2019) for the most wickets by any bowler in a single edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup.

– David Warner has scored six centuries in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup and could draw level with India captain Rohit Sharma (seven) for most centuries ever at the event by reaching three figures in the final.

– Warner could also become just the sixth Men’s player from Australia to achieve the milestone of 7000 ODI runs if he can score 75 or more in the final.

– If Glenn Maxwell can score 101 in the final he will become just the seventh Australian player to have scored more than 1000 runs in the history of the Men’s Cricket World Cup.

ALSO READ: Proteas coach ‘proud’ of injured Temba Bavuma despite Cricket World Cup exit