Proteas T20 Cricket World Cup

The Proteas in a huddle. Photo AAP

JUST IN: SABC make move to broadcast Cricket World Cup

The SABC has stated that an offer has been made to secure sub-licensing right for the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

Proteas T20 Cricket World Cup

The Proteas in a huddle. Photo AAP

The highly anticipated Cricket World Cup will take place in India from 5 October to 19 November, and the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) has notably made an offer to MultiChoice (DSTV) for the sub-licensing for the tournament and now “awaits their response”.

“This move seeks to enhance access to premier cricket content for the masses and reaffirms the commitment to providing the best in sports entertainment to citizens, regardless of their geographic location or economic status,” a statement read on Wednesday.

MUST READ | When do the Proteas play at the 2023 Cricket World Cup

This offer comes not long after it was confirmed that SABC will be able to broadcast as many as 16 Rugby matches, including every match that the Springboks participate in.

Furthermore, two quarter-final matches, one semi-final, the bronze final, the final and the closing ceremony will all be shown.

ALSO READ | Proteas bag R56 million sponsorship deal for World Cup

Back the Boks to win the Cup and get a risk-free bet up to R1 000 with Betway!


Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Sisanda Magala (DP World Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions) and Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions).

ALSO READ: Where is Klusener now? The Zulu who nearly became SA’s ICON


Rob Walter (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Team Manager), Jean-Paul Duminy (Batting Coach), Eric Simons (Bowling Coach), Wandile Gwavu (Fielding Coach), Thomas Dawson-Squibb (Performance Coach), Runeshan Moodley (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Matthew Reuben (Performance Analyst), Sizwe Hadebe (Physiotherapist), Dr Hashendra Ramjee (Team Doctor), Kyle Botha (Logistics and Masseur), Lucy Davey (Media Manager) and Zunaid Wadee (Security Officer).

ALSO READ | South Africa to send below strength Test team to New Zealand