Schengen visas to go online

Schengen visas to go online. Image: Pexels

Schengen visas to go fully online: See here

There is good news on the horizon, for travellers who are required to obtain Schengen visas for entry to Europe’s Schengen Area.

Schengen visas to go online

Schengen visas to go online. Image: Pexels

The processing of Schengen visas to visit Europe’s Schengen Area will soon be fully done via an online platform.

This will revolutionise the Schengen visa, making it a convenient electronic visa (e-visa).

The digitalisation of Schengen visa processing will also do away with the need for stickers in passports.


Paging through your passport and looking at stamps and visas is often a souvenir of one’s travels.

One of the joys of being a South African passport holder is being able to flip through your passport and reminisce over travels by viewing all the pages in your passport.

South African passport holders can look forward to easier visa application processes when applying for their Schengen visas.

The downside to traditional visa applications is the effort and costs involved in obtaining them.

ALSO READ: Another country to allow visa-free entry for South Africans


Recently, there has been a shift in the way visas are processed – with a number of countries now using online platforms for their visa processes.

VisaGuide reports that the Council of the European Union has now agreed that Schengen visas should be digitalised.

The EU has given the green light to digitalize the Schengen visa application process. This is a significant step towards modernizing travel procedures for visitors to Europe.


So, no more stress over making copies of your personal docs or rushing over to appointments at visa handling agents; or paying fees for passports to be couriered back. 

All of these frustrations will be removed when applying for Schengen visas goes digital. This means there will no longer be a need for appointments at consulates or visa handling agents.


The change has been unveiled after a month-long legislative process which will take effect three weeks after it is published in the EU’s administrative gazette, according to Hindustan Times.

A Schengen visa is required for entry to the Schengen Area which comprises 23 of the 27 EU member countries plus associated neighbours: Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

ALSO READ: Japan opens up e-visas to South Africans