ANC Youth League President Collen Malatji. Image: @Collen_Malaji3

ANC Youth League President declines Parliamentary position

ANCYL President Collen Malatji joins soon to be retired MP, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma by declining a chance to interview for an MP position


ANC Youth League President Collen Malatji. Image: @Collen_Malaji3

Africa National Congress Youth League Collen Malajie turned down an opportunity to to become a member of Parliament at the conclusion of the upcoming elections.

In a letter penned to former President and ANC Electoral Committee Chairperson, Kgalema Motlanthe, Malatji declined an interview, saying that becoming an MP is not yet in the cards for him.


ALSO READ:Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma announces retirement from Parliament

ALSO READ: List of Politicians that deserve to be in Parliament

In his letter Malatji has thanked all ANC branches that have nominated him.

“After careful consideration and reflection, I have decided to respectfully decline the nomination. It was a difficult decision to make, as it would not best fit my current goals and aspirations”, Malatji says.

“I believe it would not be fair to accept the nomination knowing that my goals do not align with the requirement of being a member of parliament.”


Two weeks ago, Minister in the Presidency for women, children and person’s with disabilities, Nkosazane Dlamini-Zuma, also decline an opportunity to return to Parliament.

ALSO READ: South Africa’s parliament struggles to rise from ashes

In an unexpected twists, the 74-year-old announced her retirement as an MP.

“My sincere gratitude to the entire leadership of the African National Congress from national, provincial, regional and branch levels for affording me the opportunity and support to serve the country and the people of South Africa as a public representative and as a member of Cabinet since 1994”, says Dlamini-Zuma.

“It will not be necessary to schedule the interview for the 2024 national list because I have taken the decision to retire from being a member of the South African Parliament.”