ford everest xlt

The Ford Everest XLT. Image: Supplied

Ford Everest range scales new heights with XLT 4×4 addition

Ford’s new Everest ramps the model range with new 4×4 XLT automatic and more upgrades.

ford everest xlt

The Ford Everest XLT. Image: Supplied

Ford Motor Company of Southern Africa (FMCSA) has bolstered its Everest seven-seater SUV line-up with the addition of a new XLT 4×4 derivative powered by the 2.0-litre Single Turbo engine in combination with Ford’s advanced 10-speed automatic transmission.

Image: Supplied

Ford Everest XLT: Lights, camera, action

At the same time, the Everest’s lighting technology has been upgraded, with the introduction of high-tech LED headlamps as standard on all XLT models, as well as the range-topping Everest Limited.

“This further improves safety when driving at night due to the exceptional lighting performance and accuracy of the latest LED technology. Daytime visibility is also improved with the inclusion of the distinctive LED daytime running lights,” said FMCSA general marketing manager Doreen Mashinini.

“This new derivative slots in perfectly between the existing XLT 4×2 with the same 2.0 Single Turbo engine and the powerful 157kW 2.0 Bi-Turbo derivatives, thereby offering the ideal combination of sure-footed all-terrain capability along with exceptional fuel consumption.”

2.0 Single Turbo diesel engine

The new model is equipped with the same 2.0 Single Turbo diesel engine that powered the Ford Ranger to the double cab class victory in the 2019 WesBank Fuel Economy Tour. It produces 132kW of power and 420Nm of torque available from 1 750 to 2 500 r/min – with up to 340Nm available from as low as 1 250 r/min.

As with all models equipped with the new 2.0-litre engines, the new addition boasts Ford’s 10-speed automatic transmission. It features an electronic control system with real-time adaptive shift-scheduling, engineered to help select the correct gear at the right time, including skip-shift and direct downshift capabilities.

The high-tech transmission incorporates Progressive Range Select (PRS), which gives the driver the ability to lock out gears from the automatic shifting range. This provides greater control when driving in slippery conditions, when towing or climbing steep gradients.

Image: Supplied

Optimal grip and control

In 4×4 guise, the Everest relies on a permanent four-wheel drive system that ensures optimal grip and control in all conditions. It boasts a sophisticated yet exceptionally easy to use Terrain Management System, accessed via a rotary dial next to the gear lever to engage the various drive modes.

The system tailors the engine and drivetrain according to the terrain by adjusting throttle response, gear selection and traction control, as well as the engagement of high or low-range, with a standard rear differential lock further aiding traction on uneven surfaces.

Safety, comfort and convenience

In XLT trim, the Everest has an impressive array of safety, comfort and convenience features as standard, including Passive Entry and Passive Start (PEPS) with keyless unlocking and push-button starting. Front and rear parking sensors are provided, linked to an integrated rearview camera to make parking the vehicle in even the tightest spaces a cinch.

Image: Supplied

The standard safety package across the line-up, includes Electronic Stability Control (ESC) system with Traction Control (TC), Trailer Sway Control (TSC), Hill Start Assist (HSA), Hill Descent Control (HDC) on the 4×4 models, Load Adaptive control (LAC) and Roll Over Mitigation (ROM).

A full Category 1 Thatcham-specification alarm is standard on all Everest models for enhanced anti-theft security.

SYNC®3 with Navigation is standard on the XLT and Limited models, linked to the integrated eight-inch touch-screen colour display, along with two USB ports and Bluetooth connectivity.

Model range and Ford’s recommended retail prices:

  • 2.2 TDCi XLS 6AT 4×2                                               R552 500
  • 2.0 SiT XLT 10AT 4×2                                                R637 800
  • 2.0 SiT XLT 10AT 4×4                                               R679 400
  • 2.0 BiT XLT 10AT 4×2                                                R693 300
  • 3.2 TDCi XLT 6AT 4×4                                               R715 300
  • 2.0 BiT XLT 10AT 4×4                                                R744 500
  • 2.0 BiT Limited 10AT 4×4                                           R819 400

All models come standard with Ford Protect, comprising a four-year/120 000km comprehensive warranty, three-year/unlimited distance roadside assistance and five-year/unlimited km corrosion warranty. A six-year/90 000km service plan is included, with 15 000km service intervals.

Image: supplied