11th Annual Savanna Comics Choice Comedy Awards

11th Annual Savanna Comics Choice Comedy Awards. Image Supplied

Mpho Popps, Sifiso Nene win big at the Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards

Mpho Popps and Roby Collins are some of the winners at the 11th Annual Savanna Comics Choice Comedy Awards.

11th Annual Savanna Comics Choice Comedy Awards

11th Annual Savanna Comics Choice Comedy Awards. Image Supplied

The South African comedy industry’s biggest stars gathered to celebrate the 11th Annual Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards in partnership with Savanna Premium Cider, Mrs. Ball’s, LIFT, Comedy Central, and One-eyed Jack.

The event kicked off with Mojak Lehoko, the writer of the Awards show, warming the crowd. This set the tone for an evening of non-stop entertainment centred around the theme of “Don’t You Just Love South Africa!”


Mpho ‘Popps’ Modikoane’s opening set included a perfect blend of quintessential Mpho ‘Popps’ comedy and appreciation for the country’s unique sense of humour, setting the stage for a night that was as patriotic as it was amusing.

One of the highlights of the evening was the Joe Mafela Award, recognising Sifiso Nene and the linguistic diversity and rich culture of South Africa. The Funny is Funny Award, won by King Price for Generating Gees, spotlighted the role of comedy in advertising, emphasising the close relationship between humour and marketing. Another memorable moment was marking the 20th anniversary of “Blacks Only” with David Kau at the helm.


The Headliner of the Year Award winner, Robby Collins, is a testament to a comedian who consistently shines in the spotlight, and the announcement of Mpho ‘Popps’ Modikoane as winner of the Comedian of the Year Award culminated the celebration, recognising a comedian who has made and continues to make a significant impact on the industry..

It was a special moment when Alfred Adriaan went on stage to recognise this year’s Hall of Fame Award recipient, Marc Lottering. From Cape Town to the global stage, Marc Lottering is South Africa comedic treasure and genius. His career began with his first stand-up routine in 1997. He has written over 20 one-man shows and created three critically acclaimed musicals. Marc is the recipient of two Fleur de Cap Awards and a Naledi Award, and he can add Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards Hall of Fame Award to his long list of achievements.


  • Breakthrough Act of the Year Award: Vafa Naraghi
  • Savanna Newcomer Award: Callum Hitchcock
  • Joe Mafela Award: Sifiso Nene
  • Funny is Funny Award: King Price for Generating Gees
  • Best Comedic Show/Festival Award: Bioscope Sundays
  • Hall of Fame Award: Marc Lottering
  • Best Comedic Writer Award: Kagiso Lediga
  • upLiFTing Comedic Content Award: Costa Carastavrakis
  • Sauce of the Year Award, presented by Mrs. Ball’s: Vafa Naraghi
  • Best Solo Show Award: Sifiso Nene for Baby Mama Drama
  • Headliner of the Year Award: Robby Collins
  • Comedian of the Year Award: Mpho “Popps” Modikoane

This year Savanna enhanced the winners’ experience with cash prizes of R10 000 oer winner. Each winner received a beautifully designed and produced Waldo trophy as a symbol of their outstanding achievement.