Kabza Da Small wins R300 000 at Metro FM Awards.

Kabza Da Small wins R300 000 at Metro FM Awards. Image via Twitter @jabu_mcdonald

Kabza De Small wins R300 000 at Metro FM Awards

Talented musician Kabza De Small, who was nominated in five categories won four Metro FM Awards on Saturday.

Kabza Da Small wins R300 000 at Metro FM Awards.

Kabza Da Small wins R300 000 at Metro FM Awards. Image via Twitter @jabu_mcdonald

30-year-old musician Kabza De Small whose real name is Kabelo Motha won R300 000 at this year’s Metro FM Awards.


The Citizen reports that Kabza De Small was nominated for five categories at Saturday’s Metro FM Awards. The awards were themed Black To The Future, which is a celebration of the achievements and contributions of black artists in the music industry.

Entertainment commentator Phil Mphela reports that Motha won R300 000 at the Metros and was the biggest winner for the night at the 2024 Metro FM Music Awards.

Mphela adds that the musician won R50 000 for the three categories: Best Produced Album, Best Amapiano and Best Collaboration. He also won Song of The Year which came with R150 000.00 cash prize.

“I don’t know if he will only share with Mthuzi or everybody credited on the track will get some cut. Six artists credited on Song of The Year titled Imithandazo,” concludes Mphela.

Motha’s popular song comes from his collaborative album Isimo with talented musician Mthunzi Ndimande.

Imithandazo features Young Stunna, DJ Maphorisa, Sizwe Alakine, and Umthakathi Kush. It has been highly successful following its release in 2023 on 27 October. It amassed high streaming numbers and high radio play rotation.

The Song of the Year winner walked away with R150 000, courtesy of the Motsepe Foundation, while Santam sponsored the Best New Artist category.


The 2024 Metro FM Music Awards were held on Freedom Day (27 April) at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga.

The awards were hosted by Tebogo “Proverb” Thekisho and Luthando “LootLove” Shosha and broadcasted live on SABC 1 and SABC+.

The Metro FM Awards are supported by the Mpumalanga Provincial Government, in association with the Motsepe Foundation.

Metro FM business manager Kina Nhlengethwa describes the awards as “a platform where artists, both established and emerging, showcase their passion and talent, igniting a symphony of inspiration and creativity.”

“Beyond the glitz and glamour, these awards embody the relentless pursuit of excellence and the unwavering dedication to craft.”

Sowetan reports that Makhadzi won Best Female Artist Award, Mthandazo Gatya won Best R&B and Legacy walked away with the Best Duo/Group.

DJ Oskido walked away with the Lifetime Achievement Award while Oscar Mbo walked away with the Best Styled.