Varsity Cup

The Varsity Cup is expected to be a closely-fought affair. Photo: Twitter

Varsity Cup final: Follow live updates for UCT Ikeys v NWU Eagles

This year’s Varsity Cup final will be contested between NWU Eagles and UCT Ikeys. You can keep track of how things progress here.

Varsity Cup

The Varsity Cup is expected to be a closely-fought affair. Photo: Twitter

UCT Ikeys will be looking to add more silverware to their trophy cabinet when the Cape-based side takes on NWU Eagles in the 2023 Varsity Cup final at the Fanie du Toit Sports Ground in Potchefstroom on Monday night.

Kick-off is at 19:00, and will be broadcast on SuperSport.

ALSO READ: Springboks: The one bolter we expect to start first Test of 2023

You can follow all the live updates by clicking on the official Twitter handle here

ALSO READ: Nick Mallett flags concern over French TV directors

Varsity Cup final team line-ups

UCT Ikeys: 15 Koevort Duran, 14 Louw Rethabile, 13 Boulle Joshua, 12 Lamb Kyle, 11 Makhaza Ntokoza, 10 Hayes David, 9 Moos Asad, 8 Delport Laro, 7 Ndiao Kyle, 6 Dyonase Siphumezo, 5 van der Westhuizen George, 4 Crous Reynhardt, 3 le Roux Bryan, 2 Blanckenberg Keagan, 1 Woji Luthando.

NWU Eagles: 15 Swanepoel Tino Santino, 14 Windvogel Keano Ricardo, 13 Pretorius Theunis Gerhardus, 12 Phatudi I. S. Vincent Phatudi, 11 Jaarts Naiden, 10 Robinson Zinedine, 9 Hassien Sylvester, 8 Erlank Gustav Zacharias, 7 Bertram Karl-Heinz Henlein, 6 Vermaak Chris, 5 Nel Wihan, 4 Krugel Stephan, 3 Swiegers Ruan (Sampie), 2 Paulo Vernon, 1 du Plessis Ruben.

LET US KNOW | Have your say: Who should be the next Springbok coach?

As a reminder, NWU Eagles topped the 2023 log after the round-robin phase and beat Maties 19-10 in the semi-finals.

UCT Ikeys finished third in the standings and beat UFS Shimlas 65-30 in their semi-final last week.

IN CLOSING | SA Rugby reveal Rassie Erasmus’ future

Good luck to both Varsity Cup finalists!


Under year, winning team, score in the final, losing finalist

2008Maties16–10UCT Ikeys
2009Maties11–6NWU Pukke
2010Maties17–14UCT Ikeys
2011UCT Ikeys26–16UP Tuks
2012UP Tuks29–21Maties
2013UP Tuks44–5Maties
2014UCT Ikeys39-33NWU Pukke
2015UFS Shimlas63-33NWU Pukke
2016NWU Pukke7–6Maties
2017UP Tuks28–21Maties
2018Maties40–7NWU Pukke
2019Maties34–12UP Tuks
2021UP Tuks34–27UCT Ikeys
2022UP Tuks29–23Maties