The Bulls celebrate Easter weekend United Rugby Championship

The Bulls will be in action this weekend. Image: URC via X.

Bulls slay Dragons to complete rare SA clean sweep

The Bulls bashed the Dragons in Wales to make it a perfect four from four for South African teams this weekend.

The Bulls celebrate Easter weekend United Rugby Championship

The Bulls will be in action this weekend. Image: URC via X.

The Bulls saw off the bottom-feeder Dragons 31-10 at Rodney Parade to move into second place in the United Rugby Championship.


The hosts competed strongly throughout but Bulls always had the additional power and that touch of class to ensure a bonus-point victory that leaves them four points behind leaders Leinster.

Kurt-Lee Arendse, Mpilo Gumede, Embrose Papier and Johan Grobbelaar scored the South African side’s tries with Chris Smith converting all four and adding a penalty.

The Dragons responded with a Corey Baldwin try that was converted by Will Reed, and a Cai Evans penalty, but it was not enough to prevent a 10th defeat in 12 league outings this season.


The Bulls’ victory came after the Sharks, Stormers and Lions all stormed to industrious triumphs over Ulster, Edinburgh and Connacht, respectively.

The Bulls (second), Stormers (fifth) and Lions (eighth) now all occupy playoff spots with six rounds to go before the knockout phase of the competition commences.

While there is still a mathematical chance for the Sharks to qualify for the playoffs, it is highly unlikely to happen and unrealistic to hope for a miracle comeback.


Dragons — Try: Corey Baldwin. Conversion: Cai Evans. Penalty: Evans.
Bulls — Tries: Kurt-Lee Arendse, Mpilo Gumede, Embrose Papier, Johan Grobbelaar. Conversions: Chris Smith (4). Penalty: Smith.

Dragons — 15 Cai Evans, 14 Ewan Rosser, 13 Joe Westwood, 12 Steff Hughes (captain), 11 Corey Baldwin, 10 Will Reed, 9 Rhodri Williams, 8 Taine Basham, 7 Sean Lonsdale, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 George Nott, 4 Matthew Screech, 3 Chris Coleman, 2 Brodie Coghlan, 1 Rhodri Jones.
Subs: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rodrigo Martinez, 18 Luke Yendle, 19 Ben Carter, 20 Harri Keddie, 21 Aaron Wainwright, 22 Dane Blacker, 23 Jared Rosser.

Bulls — 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Canan Moodie, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Izak Burger, 8 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Mpilo Gumede, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Subs: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Johan Goosen, 23 Devon Williams.


Bulls score graphic via URC
Springbok and Bulls loose forward Marcell Coetzee celebrates their win with his teammates. Image: Via United Rugby Championship via X (formerly Twitter).