Blitzboks fixture news in a minute video

The Blitzboks will begin their title challenge against Spain at 20:15 (SA time) on Saturday, 16 April. Image : Twitter/Blitzboks

Follow the Blitzboks: Vancouver Sevens LIVE scores

The Blitzboks will start the World Rugby Canada Sevens as the most successful team at BC Place in Vancouver.

Blitzboks fixture news in a minute video

The Blitzboks will begin their title challenge against Spain at 20:15 (SA time) on Saturday, 16 April. Image : Twitter/Blitzboks

The Blitzboks saw their record-breaking winning streak come crashing down last week, but they have no time to mourn as they are straight back into it in Vancouver.

Blitzboks vs Spain

The Blitzboks face Spain at 20:15 (SA time) on Saturday, 16 April.

Blitzboks vs Canada

The Blitzboks face Canada at 23:26 (SA time) on Saturday, 16 April.

Blitzboks vs Australia

The Blitzboks face Australia at 03:33 (SA time) on Sunday, 17 April.


The Springbok Sevens will start the Canada Sevens as the most successful team at BC Place in Vancouver, having played the most Cup finals of any of the 16 teams at the sixth tournament of this year’s World Rugby Sevens Series.

World Rugby Sevens Series Blitzboks
James Murphy, Shaun Williams and Shilton van Wyk have been called into the Blitzboks squad for the Vancouver Sevens tournament. Photo: David Van Der Sandt/Gallo Images

They finished second in 2016 and 2017 before winning their maiden Cup title at this event in 2019, before claiming gold for the second time in 2021, and come into the tournament as defending champions and, for good measure, at the top of the World Series standings.

However, these statistics were not on their minds as they arrived in Canada on Monday. It was the three successive defeats and the rash of penalties conceded in those matches that worried Blitzbok coach Neil Powell.

Discipline key

And for good reason, as Powell explained.

“The number of penalties was a worry – we are more disciplined than that and have been for a while,” he said.

The high number of penalties conceded prompted a chat to the match officials to get clarity and left Powell with a clearer picture for the Canada event.

“We did chat to the officials to understand where we made those errors in order to rectify them,” said Powell.

“It was a combination of frustration on our side and interpretation on theirs. We sought clarity and got that.

“The feedback to the players was that we need to give the referees a better picture of what we do. We know the rules it was just a reminder of what was wrong and what not. There should be no issues this weekend,” he added.

The Blitzboks’ three Pool C opponents are also familiar foes. They played against Canada twice in recent tournaments and could expect the hosts to be fired up on home soil, while they also encountered Spain in BC Place last time they were there, outplaying the Western Europeans in their pool encounter and then again in the Cup quarter-final last year.

South Africa’s last encounter with Australia was also in Malaga, Spain in January, two tournaments ago.

Blitzboks’ pool schedule (SA time):

Saturday, 16 April:

20h15: vs Spain

23h26: vs Canada

Sunday, 17 April:

03h33: vs Australia

Springbok Sevens squad for Vancouver

1. James Murphy – 6 tournaments; 20 matches, 10 points (2 tries)

2. Ryan Oosthuizen – 28 tournaments; 137 matches, 150 points (30 tries)

3. Impi Visser – 18 tournaments; 91 matches, 95 points (19 tries)

4. Zain Davids – 29 tournaments; 145 matches, 135 points (27 tries)

5. Christie Grobbelaar – 8 tournaments; 38 matches, 65 points (13 tries)

6. JC Pretorius – 17 tournaments; 91 matches, 195 points (39 tries)

7. Ronald Brown – 5 tournaments; 29 matches, 197 points (17 tries, 56 conversions)

8. Selvyn Davids – 26 tournaments; 135 matches, 552 points (67 tries, 107 conversions, 1 penalty)

9. Shaun Williams – 5 tournaments; 25 matches, 68 points (12 tries, 4 conversions)

10. Dewald Human – 14 tournaments; 63 matches, 184 points (14 tries, 57 conversions)

11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain) – 36 tournaments; 187 matches, 595 points (119 tries)

12. Shilton van Wyk – 2 tournaments; 12 matches, 20 points (4 tries)

13. Darren Adonis – 5 tournaments; 27 matches, 47 points (9 tries, 1 conversion)

Selected Blitzbok stats for the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022:

Most points:

126: Selvyn Davids

106: Ronald Brown

75: Siviwe Soyizwapi

55: JC Pretorius

54: Branco du Preez

Most tries:

22: Selvyn Davids

15: Siviwe Soyizwapi

11: JC Pretorius

8:  Ronald Brown, Shaun Williams

Most tackles:

59: Zain Davids

49: JC Pretorius

46: Christie Grobbelaar, Impi Visser

44: Selvyn Davids

Most appearances:

27: Impi Visser, Selvyn Davids

26: Christie Grobbelaar, JC Pretorius

25: Zain Davids

Selected Blitzboks World Rugby Sevens Series stats

Most tries:

230: Seabelo Senatla

179: Cecil Afrika, Fabian Juries

119: Siviwe Soyizwapi

115: Justin Geduld

Most points:

1462: Cecil Afrika

1409: Branco du Preez

1150: Seabelo Senatla

1060: Justin Geduld

925: Fabian Juries

Additional reporting from SA Rugby Communications