Allister Coetzee, Springbok coach

Allister Coetzee (Gallo / Gabriele Maltinti)

Bok squad named for the home leg of the Rugby Championship

No wholesale changes to Bok squad after record defeat.

Allister Coetzee, Springbok coach

Allister Coetzee (Gallo / Gabriele Maltinti)

Allister Coetzee has named his Springbok squad for the two remaining home matches of the 2017 Castle Lager Rugby Championship.

This sees a return for Bath flanker Francois Louw who was missing from the squad due to a shoulder injury. The uncapped duo of Southern Kings scrumhalf Louis Schreuder and Sharks wing Sibusiso Nkosi are also added to the squad.

The 21-year Nkosi receives his first call-up after strong performances for the Cell C Sharks, having made his Super Rugby debut early this year and is currently joint top try scorer in the Currie Cup. Schreuder will be looking to earn his first cap, having toured with the Boks back in 2013.

The injured pair of Jaco Kriel and Coenie Oosthuizen were not considered for selection. They both sustained injuries in the 23-all draw against Australia in Perth, with Kriel’s shoulder injury ruling him out for the rest of the year.

Flanker Oupa Mohoje was also not considered besides being given the all clear to return to action after being sidelined with a rib injury.

Coetzee explained that he rewarded the two potential debutants for their good form:


“Louis and S’bu have both performed well this season, and their inclusion gives us an opportunity to work closely with them,” he said.

“They are both in-form players and are making good decisions on the field in their respective positions. Their inclusion and exposure to this level will continue our process of building depth in certain positions.

“Louis has been there before, but we’re excited to expose S’bu to the Springbok environment – he is in excellent form and we are excited to work with him.”

The squad will meet on Sunday in Bloemfontein in preparation for the Test against the Wallabies at the Free State stadium on 30 September. They take on the All Blacks the following week in Newlands.


The Springbok squad for the Tests in Bloemfontein and Cape Town:



Uzair Cassiem, Lood de Jager, Ruan Dreyer, Dan du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Wilco Louw, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Chiliboy Ralepelle



Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Handré Pollard, Raymond Rhule, Louis Schreuder, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, S’busiso Nkosi

Also read: Backlash from humiliating Bok defeat turns nasty as players’ families are threatened