Marc Marquez MotoGP

Image via Twitter Marc Márquez (@marcmarquez93)

Marc Marquez wraps up 2019 title with Thai MotoGP win

Marc Marquez clinched the 2019 title with a last-lap pass as he denied Fabio Quartararo a first win in the premier class in Sunday’s Thai MotoGP.

Marc Marquez MotoGP

Image via Twitter Marc Márquez (@marcmarquez93)

Marc Marquez is a six-time MotoGP World Champion having secured the 2019 championship with a victory in Sunday’s Thai MotoGP, denying rookie rider Fabio Quartararo a first win in the premier class.

The Honda rider outscored title protagonist Andrea Dovizioso by 12 points on the day to cruise to a comfortable victory in the Riders’ Championship – and did so with four races to spare.

Marquez needed just two points

Such has been Marquez’s form in 2019, he arrived in Thailand with eight wins on the board, five runner-up results and only one non-score.

As such the Spanish rider, 98 points to the good, needed to outscore his only rival, Dovizioso, by two points on Sunday to wrap up his eight overall title.

But in true Marquez style, he didn’t settle.

From the pain of crashing to the joy of the win

He came out firing in Friday’s first practice only to suffer a massive high-side at Turn 7.

Winded and hurting, he was taken to a local hospital for an MRI but suffered nothing worse than bruising to his back and legs.

He was back on track hours later before qualifying his Honda RC213V in second place on Saturday.

Ducati’s Dovizioso was down in seventh, with satellite Yamaha rider Quartararo taking pole position.

Quartararo grabbed the holeshot into Turn 1 ahead of Marquez, Maverick Vinales, Franco Morbidelli and the Ducatis.

Marquez, despite being told by his Honda team prior to the race that the win wasn’t necessary, launched an early challenge into Turn 3 only to run wide and let Quartararo back through.

The duo ran first and second as they distanced the field, including Dovizioso who was up to fourth.

Lap after lap Marquez dogged Quartararo, making two further attempts at Turn 3 before lining up the Frenchman on the final lap, this time making it stick.

The Yamaha rider tried to fight back at Turn 12, briefly retaking the lead only for Marquez to power back through denying him for the second time this season.

Marquez wrapped up the race win and the World title while Quartararo had to settle for second.

“Of courses I’m happy,” said the rookie. “I’m very proud of my team and my job.

“To fight until the last corner… I tried everything.

“If I didn’t try that move in the last corner I don’t home normal but I’m really happy about the race.

“The win is coming soon.”

They were joined on the podium by Vinales with the toothless Dovizioso crossing the line in fourth place.

Time to celebrate

Marquez’s sixth MotoGP title means only one year in this decade has the 26-year-old not been a World Champion on two wheels.

“I was planning this weekend to win the race,” he said.

“The championship didn’t matter or the distance to Dovi, my target was to find the best way to win the race and that is what I did.

“Amazing year, everyone at the team did an amazing job.

“Time to enjoy and celebrate this title.”


1 Marc MARQUEZ            SPA        Repsol Honda Team 39’36.223

2 Fabio QUARTARARO     FRA        Petronas Yamaha SRT +0.171

3 Maverick VIÑALES         SPA        Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP +1.380

4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO       ITA         Ducati Team +11.218

5 Alex RINS         SPA        Team Suzuki Ecstar +11.449

6 Franco MORBIDELLI     ITA         Petronas Yamaha SRT +14.466

7 Joan MIR          SPA        Team Suzuki Ecstar +18.729

8 Valentino ROSSI             ITA         Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP +19.162

9 Danilo PETRUCCI           ITA         Ducati Team +23.425

10 Takaaki NAKAGAMI    JPN        LCR Honda Idemitsu +29.423

11 Francesco BAGNAIA   ITA         Pramac Racing +30.103

12 Cal CRUTCHLOW        GBR       LCR Honda Castrol +33.216

13 Pol ESPARGARO           SPA        Red Bull KTM Factory Racing +35.667

14 Jack MILLER  AUS        Pramac Racing +39.736

15 Andrea IANNONE        ITA         Aprilia Racing Team Gresini +40.038

16 Miguel OLIVEIRA         POR       Red Bull KTM Tech 3 +40.136

17 Tito RABAT    SPA        Reale Avintia Racing +44.589

18 Jorge LORENZO           SPA        Repsol Honda Team +54.723

19 Karel ABRAHAM          CZE        Reale Avintia Racing +56.012

20 Hafizh SYAHRIN           MAL       Red Bull KTM Tech 3 +1’01.431

Not Classified

Aleix ESPARGARO             SPA        Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 9 Laps

Mika KALLIO       FIN         Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 23 Laps