flysafair cheap flights


South Africans can visit these 91 countries without a visa nightmare

The pain of paperwork can put you right off your holiday or business trip. But your SA passport is more handy than you might think at getting you through the world’s immigration desks.

flysafair cheap flights


Did you know: South Africans now need a visa in order to enter New Zealand and Colombia?

That wasn’t the case a year ago, but then these whimsical government tit-for-tat decisions are rarely made with us simple travellers in mind.

However, despite this double blow to your freedom of movement, the hassle-free travel options with an SA passport remain pretty damn good.

Walter Jackson

Whether you’re on business or pleasure, alone or with family, the little green book will take you to all four corners of the world with a smile and a confident walk up to the immigration desk.

There are plenty of Caribbean paradises to be had, as well as tourist hot spots in the far east and even Kosovo. Just saying.

So close your eyes, give your globe a spin and see if your finger lands on any of these destinations across the planet.

You can enter these countries without a visa

Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Kenya, Kosovo, Lesotho, Macao, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nicaragua, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, South Korea, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Once you’ve picked off all of that exotic, low-hanging fruit, don’t forget the second category.

A bunch of destinations allow you to rock up at their airports, fill in a form, slip them a few Rand (legally, we promise) and head on in.

These include local gems like the Seychelles and Cape Verde, to the far flung delights of Himalayan Nepal. Check out the full list below.

flowcomm / flickr

You can visit these countries with a visa on arrival

Armenia, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Madagascar, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Nepal, Oman, Palau, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Timor-Leste, Togo, Turkey, Tuvalu and Uganda.

The news isn’t too bad if the Asian subcontinent is your preferred destination, either, with India and Sri Lanka offering Electronic Travel Authority entry.

That essentially means sending them an ID photo and a copy of your passport before you set off. But do check the exact details before you pack your suitcase and Uber to the airport, won’t you.

All this exciting information leaves only one key question unanswered: where will you travel to first?