Van der Westhuizen and Matfiel

Van der Westhuizen and Matfield make fans’ Rugby World Cup “all-time” Dream XV

Two Saffas have cracked the nod for the fans’ “all-time” Dream XV Rugby World Cup squad.

Van der Westhuizen and Matfiel

Joost van der Westhuizen and Victor Matfield have cracked the nod for an all-time fan’s “Dream Team”. Fans from around the world had 15 weeks to vote for their best ever Rugby World Cup XI. Two South Africans – scrumhalf Joost van der Westhuizen and lock Victor Matfield – have been included.

Van der Westhuizen was part of the 1995 Springbok team who won the Cup by beating the All Blacks 15-12 while Matfield was a winner in 2007, with the Boks beating England.

The Dream Team features nine World Cup winners, with the others being Jason Robinson (England, 2003), Conrad Smith (New Zealand (2011), Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand, 2011), Jonny Wilkinson (England, 2003), Lawrence Dallaglio (England, 2003), Richie McCaw (New Zealand, 2011) and Martin Johnson (England, 2003).

The front row is made up entirely of players from Argentinian team from 2007 which finished third in the 2007 tournament.

The team boasts 202 World Cup caps, 46 tries and 508 points across all seven tournaments between them. It also features two winning captains in McCaw and Johnson.

Fans’ all-time Rugby World Cup dream team:

15 Serge Blanco (France), 14 Jason Robinson (England), 13 Conrad Smith (New Zealand), 12 Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand), 11 Jonah Lomu (New Zealand), 10 Jonny Wilkinson (England), 9 Joost van der Westhuizen (South Africa), 8 Lawrence Dallaglio (England), 7 Richie McCaw (New Zealand), 6 Thierry Dusautoir (France), 5 Victor Matfield (South Africa), 4 Martin Johnson (England), 3 Omar Hasan (Argentina), 2 Mario Ledesma (Argentina), 1 Rodrigo Roncero (Argentina)