Tshegofatso Mabasa Golden Boot

Tshegofatso Mabasa Golden Boot. Image: @TshegofatsoMabasa/Instagram

Who holds the record for most PSL goals scored in a season?

The race for Golden Boot bragging rights as the country’s top goal scorer in this season’s DStv Premiership will be decided on Saturday.

Tshegofatso Mabasa Golden Boot

Tshegofatso Mabasa Golden Boot. Image: @TshegofatsoMabasa/Instagram

The race for Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot bragging rights as the country’s top goal scorer in this season’s DStv Premiership will be decided on the final weekend.

Looking to buy a good quality pre-owned vehicle, click here!

Realistically, five players stand a chance of walking away the winner of the coveted award.

But none them will come close to the all-time record number of goals scored in a single top-flight season in South Africa.

The five players to have scored double-digit goals this campaign are:

1. Tshegofatso Mabasa (Swallows / Orlando Pirates) – 15

2. Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC) – 14

3. Lucas Ribeiro Costa (Mamelodi Sundowns) – 12

4. Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United) – 11

5. Khanyiso Mayo (Cape Town City FC) – 10

One has to go all the way back to the 2004/2005 season for the record goals scored by a player in a PSL season.

That season, Kaizer Chiefs’ Zambian marksman Collins Mbesuma found the back of the net on 25 occasions.

Mbesuma would go on to win the award for a second time in the 2015/2016 season.

Peter Shalulile

The closest a player has come to breaking that 25-goal mark was in the 2021/2022 season when Namibia’s Peter Shalulile scored 23 goals for Mamelodi Sundowns.

Shalulile holds the record for Golden Boot awards won with three from the 2019/2020 (shared), 2021/2022 and 2022/2023 (shared) seasons.

Lesley Manyathela himself won the Golden Boot award in the 2002/2023 season when he scored 18 goals for Orlando Pirates.

Tragically, on 9 August 2003, following a match against Jomo Cosmos, Manyathela was killed in an accident after his car overturned on the N1 highway near his hometown of Musina.

He was 21.

1996–97Wilfred MugeyiZimbabweBush Bucks22
1997–98Keryn JordanSouth AfricaManning Rangers11
1998–99Pollen NdlanyaSouth AfricaKaizer Chiefs21
1999–2000Dennis LotaZambiaOrlando Pirates18
2000–01Gilbert MushangazhikeZimbabweManning Rangers19
2001–02Ishmael MalulekeSouth AfricaManning Rangers18
2002–03Lesley ManyathelaSouth AfricaOrlando Pirates18
2003–04Jackie LedwabaSouth AfricaZulu Royals14
2004–05Collins MbesumaZambiaKaizer Chiefs25
2005–06Mame NiangSenegalMoroka Swallows14
2006–07Christopher KatongoZambiaJomo Cosmos15
2007–08James ChamangaZambiaMoroka Swallows14
2008–09Richard HenyekaneSouth AfricaGolden Arrows19
2009–10Katlego MphelaSouth AfricaMamelodi Sundowns17
2010–11Knowledge MusonaZimbabweKaizer Chiefs17
2011–12Siyabonga NomvetheSouth AfricaMoroka Swallows20
2012–13Katlego MashegoSouth AfricaMoroka Swallows13
2013–14Bernard ParkerSouth AfricaKaizer Chiefs10
2014–15Moeketsi SekolaSouth AfricaFree State Stars14
2015–16Collins MbesumaZambiaBlack Aces14
2016–17Lebogang ManyamaSouth AfricaCape Town City FC13
2017–18Rodney RamagalelaSouth AfricaPolokwane City11
2017–18Percy TauSouth AfricaMamelodi Sundowns11
2018–19Mwape MusondaZambiaBlack Leopards16
2019–20Gabadinho MhangoMalawiOrlando Pirates16
2019–20Peter ShalulileNamibiaHighlands Park16
2020–21Bradley GroblerSouth AfricaSuperSport United16
2021–22Peter Shalulile NamibiaMamelodi Sundowns23
2022–23Peter Shalulile NamibiaMamelodi Sundowns12
2022–23Khanyisa MayoSouth AfricaCape Town City FC12