PSL Awards

Sundowns and Pirates win big at the PSL Awards. Image: PSL/X

PSL Awards: Sundowns and Pirates stars big winners

The PSL Awards were held on Sunday evening and saw Patrick Maswanganyi and Ronwen Williams dominate the awards.

PSL Awards

Sundowns and Pirates win big at the PSL Awards. Image: PSL/X

The 2023/24 PSL Awards held on Sunday evening saw Orlando Pirates midfielder Patrick Maswanganyi and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Ronwen Williams emerge as the standout winners.

Maswanganyi was honoured with the DStv Premiership Players’ Player of the Season, DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season, and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament awards for his outstanding performance.

Williams received the PSL Footballer of the Season award as well as the DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season award.

PSL Awards sees Pirates and Sundowns stars dominate

There were other notable winners as well, including Orlando Pirates’ Relebohile Mofokeng. The teenager clinched the DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season and the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament awards.

Mamelodi Sundowns coach Rulani Mokwena won big at the PSL Awards. The 37-year-old walked home with the coach of the year. His player Grant Kekana won Defender of the Season.

Tshegofatso Mabasa and Thabiso Lebitso of Orlando Pirates won the DStv Premiership Top Goal Scorer and Goal of the Season awards.

The PSL awards did not just conclude with Pirates and Downs players winning everything. Stellenbosch FC star Devin Titus won the Carling Knockout Player of the Tournament award.

Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Sipho Chaine received the MTN8 Last Man Standing award. Mamelodi Sundowns were the team of the season having won the league for the seventh time in a row.

This was the first time the PSL awards were held during the off-season. Normally the awards take place a day after the last match of the season.