africa cup of nations 2019 fixtures

Zimbabwe fans support their team. Photo: EPA/AARON UFUMELI

Africa Cup of Nations 2019: Fixtures, kick off times and groups

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations has more teams and more fixtures. Here are the dates and kick off times for the continental showpiece.

africa cup of nations 2019 fixtures

Zimbabwe fans support their team. Photo: EPA/AARON UFUMELI

Under the gaze of the Sphinx, a spectacular Africa Cup of Nations draw in Giza on Friday night produced an intriguing set of groups that leave many riddles to be answered.

The continental showpiece will kick off 21 June 2019 with the final scheduled to be played on 19 July 2019.

Bafana Bafana’s Group of Death

Every draw contains a so-called ‘group of death’ and in this instance, it is undoubtedly Group D with former champions Morocco, Ivory Coast and South Africa plus outsiders Namibia.

There are other intriguing fixtures, too, and with the top two finishers in each group and four best third-place teams qualifying for second round, there’s plenty to play for.

Africa Cup of Nations 2019: Groups

Group A: Egypt (hosts), Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon (holders), Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau

Africa Cup of Nations 2019 kick off times

All times are SAST and subject to change. is not responsible for any changes.

Most days will feature three matches with the final group games being played at the same time to avoid any sort of ‘fixing’.

This will be the first 24-team Cup of Nations – up from 16 – and the timing has changed from January/February to June/July to avoid European club-versus-country clashes.

After the eight second-round fixtures, there will be the quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and the final.

Friday, 21 June 2019

22:00 Egypt vs Zimbabwe

Saturday, 22 June 2019

16:30 DR Congo vs Uganda

19:00 Nigeria vs Burundi

22:00 Guinea vs Madagascar

Sunday, 23 June 2019

16:30 Morocco vs Namibia

19:00 Senegal vs Tanzania

22:00 Algeria vs Kenya

Monday, 24 June 2019

16:30 Ivory Coast vs South Africa

19:00 Tunisia vs Angola

22:00 Mali vs Mauritania

Tuesday, 25 June 2019

19:00 Cameroon vs Guinea-Bissau

22:00 Ghana vs Benin

Wednesday, 26 June 2019

16:30 Nigeria vs Guinea

19:00 Uganda vs Zimbabwe

22:00 Egypt vs DR Congo

Thursday, 27 June 2019

16:30 Madagascar vs Burundi

19:00 Senegal vs Algeria

22:00 Kenya vs Tanzania

Friday, 28 June 2019

16:30 Tunisia vs Mali

19:00 Morocco vs Ivory Coast

22:00 South Africa vs Namibia

Saturday, 29 June 2019

16:30 Mauritania vs Angola

19:00 Cameroon vs Ghana

22:00 Benin vs Guinea-Bissau

Sunday, 30 June 2019

18:00 Burundi vs Guinea

18:00 Madagascar vs Nigeria

21:00 Uganda vs Egypt

21:00 Zimbabwe vs DR Congo

Sunday, 1 July 2019

18:00 South Africa vs Morocco

18:00 Namibia vs Ivory Coast

21:00 Tanzania vs Algeria

21:00 Kenya vs Senegal

Monday, 2 July 2019

18:00 Benin vs Cameroon

18:00 Guinea-Bissau vs Ghana

21:00 Angola vs Mali

21:00 Mauritania vs Tunisia