Varsity Cup

Bernard van der Linde of UP Tuks scores a try during the 2022 Varsity Cup final. Photo: BackpagePix

WATCH: Tuks’ Varsity Cup match-winner – try or no try?

Tuks produced a dramatic comeback to win the Varsity Cup final against Maties, but there was plenty of debate over the final try.

Varsity Cup

Bernard van der Linde of UP Tuks scores a try during the 2022 Varsity Cup final. Photo: BackpagePix

It was Tuks’ fifth title overall as they become the first-ever team in Varsity Cup history to finish fourth on the league table and go on to win the Varsity Cup title.


The match-defining moment came when Tuks fullback Stefan Coetzee gathered and broke the line from well within his own half late in the game, before offloading to put Bernard van der Linde over for the match-winner.

However, in making the pass as he was tackled, it did appear as if the ball moved forward from the hand. However, TMO Egon Seconds was called in to make a ruling, and decided that it was not clear and obvious enough to disallow the try, resulting in wild celebrations from the away side.

You can watch the decisive moment below from the Varsity Cup final:



15 Adriaan van der Bank (captain), 14 Mike Mavovana, 13 Waqar Solaan, 12 Taigh Schoor, 11 Anton du Toit, 10 Nevaldo Fleurs, 9 Thomas Bursey, 8 Simon Miller, 7 Louw Nel, 6 Gift Dlamini, 5 Matt Gray, 4 Juan Beukes, 3 Matimu Manganyi, 2 Sean Swart, 1 Vernon Matongo

Substitutes: 16 Chris Rossouw, 17 Rhynhardt Rijnsburger, 18 Corné Weilbach, 19 Jesse Johnson, 20 Siyabonga Matanda, 21 Mckyle Volmoer, 22 Jurie Mathee, 23 Marcqiewn Titus


15 Stefan Coetzee, 14 Kabelo Mokoena, 13 Zander Reynders, 12 Lincoln Daniels (captain), 11 Tharquinn Manuel, 10 Walter Visser, 9 Bernard van der Linde, 8 Orateng Koikanyang, 7 Stephan Smit, 6 Dian Schoonees, 5 Divan Venter, 4 Mihlali Stamper, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Allister Williams, 1 Ethan Burger

Substitutes: 16 Werner Fourie, 17 André van der Merwe, 18 Daniël Wessels, 19 Justice Nkombua, 20 Hilton Gie, 21 Chad-Lee Valentine, 22 Keane Galant, 23 Ambesa Zenzile


Varsity Cup final:

Maties 23 (20) – Try: Mike Mavovana. Penalties: Nevaldo Fleurs (6).
UP-Tuks 29 (10) – Tries: Bernard van der Linde (2×7), Kabelo Mokoena (2). Conversion: Walter Visser. Penalty: Stefan Coetzee.
Player That Rocks: Stephan Smit (FNB UP-Tuks)

Varsity Cup tournament award winners:

Player That Rocks: George Lourens (FNB UFS Shimlas)
Back That Rocks: Nevaldo Fleurs (FNB Maties)
Forward That Rocks: Thabo Ndimande (FNB UFS Shimlas)