Edinburgh vs Sharks

Follow Edinbirgh vs Sharks. Photos: Backpagepix

URC LIVE scores: Edinburgh vs Sharks

Follow the action from the United Rugby Championship Round 13 match: Edinburgh vs Sharks from 19:15 on Saturday.

Edinburgh vs Sharks

Follow Edinbirgh vs Sharks. Photos: Backpagepix

Edinburgh vs Sharks: URC LIVE scores

Edinburgh vs Sharks

“It is an opportunity for the guys to show what they are capable of,”  Sharks Director of Rugby Neil Powell said.

Neil Powell Sharks Steve Haag Gallo Images
Edinburgh vs Sharks. DoR Neil Powell. Image: Steve Haag/Gallo Images.

“Think the last time they played was during the Connacht game which was obviously in horrible conditions and not a great outcome.

ALSO READ: URC coaches say South African teams increased competition strength

“But this is another opportunity for them. We didn’t get the results we were hoping for against Harlequins  [a 29-39 defeat  in the Champions Cup] but the guys are really keen to go out there and rectify the mistakes.

“The artificial pitch is really something to get used to.,” Powell said ahead of Edinburgh vs Sharks, adding: “We did as much training as we could on the pitch just to understand what we will get over the weekend.

“So, hopefully the preparation has gone well.”

ALSO READ: Scarlets outlast Bulls in URC thriller


Edinburgh: 15 Henry Immelman, 14 Wes Goosen. 13 Mark Bennett (captain). 12 James Lang. 11 Jack Blain. 10 Charlie Savala. 9 Ben Vellacott, 8 Viliame Mata, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Nick Haining, 5 Glen Young, 4 Marshall Sykes, 3 Murray McCallum, 2 Adam McBurney, 1 Boan Venter
Replacements: 16 Dave Cherry, 17 Luan de Bruin, 18 Lee-Roy Atalifo, 19 Jamie Hodgson, 20 Ben Muncaster, 21 Charlie Shiel, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 23 Cammy Hutchison

Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (captain), 7 Henco Venter, 6 James Venter, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche
Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Lionel Cronje, 23 Yaw Penxe

ALSO READ: Blitzboks beat All Blacks at Sydney Sevens

Referee: James Doleman (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Jonny Perriam (Scotland), Ru Campbell (Scotland)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (Italy)