Lions vs Sharks

Photo: SA Rugby/Gallo

United Rugby Championship: Mapimpi hat-trick sees Sharks to victory over Lions

Bok wing Makazole Mapimpi scored three tries as the Sharks claimed a 47-37 win over the Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Lions vs Sharks

Photo: SA Rugby/Gallo

It is a battle for top spot in the South African Shield when the Lions host the Sharks in the United Rugby Championship at Ellis Park on Saturday from 15:00.

The Lions are surprise leaders after five rounds of matches – a position they earned with the help of an impressive 37-19 win at the Stormers in their last United Rugby Championship outing.

Lions vs Sharks LIVE scores

What they said

Ivan van Rooyen (Emirates Lions):

“It’s great to be back for Vodacom URC action especially on our home turf at Emirates Airline Park. It’ll be our first URC fixture at home since the campaign started so we’re pretty excited about that.

“We are pleased to have Pieter back. He was great for us on tour before injury halted his momentum. He’s trained really well over the past few weeks and he is eager to get stuck in again.”

Aphelele Fassi (Sharks):

“It’s been a tough two weeks after the break and our focus has been on reflecting on phase one of the URC, which was a difficult challenge playing overseas.

“The learnings taken from that into this phase of the URC has been good for us and we’re looking forward to getting out there and rectifying our mistakes and building from there.

“We’re expecting a very fast game. They’re a team that loves to play with a lot of intensity and keep the ball in play and we’re looking forward to the game.”

Team line-ups: Lions vs Sharks

Emirates Lions: EW Viljoen, Edwill van der Merwe, Wandisile Simelane, Burger Odendaal (captain), Rabz Maxwane, Fred Zeilinga, Andre Warner; Sti Sithole, Jaco Visagie, Carlu Sadie, Ruben Schoeman, Pieter Jansen van Vuren, Jaco Kriel, Ruhan Straeuli, Francke Horn.

Replacements: PJ Botha, Morgan Naude, Ruan Dreyer, Willem Alberts, Emmanuel Tshituka, Morne van den Berg, Matt More, Tiaan Swanepoel.

Cell C Sharks: Aphelele Fassi, Sbu Nkosi, Lukhanyo Am (captain), Ben Tapuai, Makazole Mapimpi, Boeta Chamberlain, Grant Williams; Ox Nche, Kerron van Vuuren, Thomas du Toit, Ruben van Heerden, Hyron Andrews, James Venter, Jeandre Labushagne, Phepsi Buthelezi.

Replacements: Fez Mbatha, Ntuthuko Mchunu, Khutha Mchunu, Reniel Hugo, Henco Venter, Jaden Hendrikse, Tito Bonilla, Jeremy Ward.