Sharks Lukhanyo Am

Lukhanyo Am, regular captain of the Sharks. Photo: Gerhard Duraan/BackpagePix

RESULT: Springbok-laden Sharks shocked by Scarlets

A Sharks side filled with Springboks suffered a disappointing 32-20 defeat against the Scarlets at Parc Y Scarlets in Llanelli.

Sharks Lukhanyo Am

Lukhanyo Am, regular captain of the Sharks. Photo: Gerhard Duraan/BackpagePix

The Sharks were in Llanelli to face the Scarlets this evening hoping to keep their playoff bid on track, but ultimately they will come away from Wales without a single log point.

RUGBY QUIZ | FIVE simple answers could win you R1 000 in cash!

Scarlets vs Sharks: URC LIVE scores

ALSO READ: Accusations against Lions staff member takes bizarre new twist

Sharks boss Neill Powell has been facing the challenge of getting the Springboks back into their system.

Stormers to Sharks
Springbok and also Sharks skipper Siya Kolisi. Photo: Gerhard Duraan/BackpagePix

“The last two weeks for us was important [during training] to get as much ‘rugby’ into them as possible,” Powell told Rugby365.

ALSO READ: No bad blood between Ireland star and red-carded Englishman

“We needed to get them back into our attacking shapes and defensive structures,” the Sharks boss added.

“It is very different when you play, from when you practice, but we tried as best we can to get the rustiness out of them.”

ALSO READ: World Rugby disciplinary panel finds Jaco Peyper WRONG


Scarlets: 15 Tom Rogers, 14 Steff Evans, 13 Joe Roberts, 12 Johnny Williams, 11 Ryan Conbeer, 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Dan Davis, 6 Josh Macleod (captain), 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Vaea Fifita, 3 Javan Sebastian, 2 Shaun Evans, 1 Kemsley Mathias.

Replacements: 16 Taylor Davies, 17 Steff Thomas, 18 Sam Wainwright, 19 Morgan Jones, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Kieran Hardy, 22 Dan Jones, 23 Ioan Nicholas.

ALSO READ: Eben Etzebeth lures Vincent Koch to Sharks

Sharks: 15 Boeta Chamberlain, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Phendulani Buthelezi, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi (captain), 5 Emile van Heerden, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Retshegofaditswe Nché.

Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Gerbrandt Grobler, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Ben Tapuai, 23 Thaakir Abrahams.

Referee: Eoghan Cross (Ireland)

Assistant referees: Ian Davies (Wales), Jason Griffiths (Wales)

TMO: Leo Colgan (Ireland)