Springboks vs Wallabies Kurt-Lee Arendse

South Africa’s Kurt-Lee Arendse scores. Photo: EPA/KIM LUDBROOK

Springboks issue injury update on Arendse, Williams

The Springboks have issued an injury update after arriving in Argentina for this weekend’s World Cup warm up game.

Springboks vs Wallabies Kurt-Lee Arendse

South Africa’s Kurt-Lee Arendse scores. Photo: EPA/KIM LUDBROOK

The Springboks have arrived in Buenos Aires following an overnight journey from Johannesburg in the early hours of Sunday morning.

The team departed South Africa at 2am on Sunday morning and arrived at their hotel at 11am (Argentina time), while the The 26-man squad that travelled to Argentina will begin their on-field preparations for the match on Monday.

READ | Rassie Erasmus’ Springboks bombshell: I was ready to resign!

Davids said the only injury concern in the larger Springbok squad (outside of the players recovering from longer-term injuries), was scrumhalf Grant Williams, who suffered concussion against the Pumas in Saturday’s 22-21 victory in their closing Rugby Championship match. He is expected to be out of action for at least two weeks.

Wing Kurt-Lee Arendse, who suffered a finger injury in the match, is no longer a concern and will be considered for selection for the fixture in Argentina’s capital.

READ | World Cup last chance saloon: Springbok squad heading to Argentina

Springboks squad that travelled to Argentina:

Props: Thomas du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Gerhard Steenekamp, Trevor Nyakane.

Hookers: Bongi Mbonambi, Joseph Dweba.

Locks: Lood de Jager, Jean Kleyn, Marvin Orie.

Loose forwards: Jean-Luc du Preez, Evan Roos, Jasper Wiese.

Utility forwards: Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert.

Scrumhalves: Jaden Hendrikse, Herschel Jantjies, Cobus Reinach.

Flyhalf: Manie Libbok.

Centres: Lukhanyo Am, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel.

Outside Backs: Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie, Kurt-Lee Arendse.

Utility back: Damian Willemse.

READ | Argentina star cited, collision with Williams deemed red card worthy

Players remaining in South Africa:

Forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit (loose forward), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Siya Kolisi (loose forward), Frans Malherbe (prop), Malcolm Marx (hooker), Ox Nche (prop), Kwagga Smith (loose forward), RG Snyman (lock), Marco van Staden (loose forward), Duane Vermeulen (No 8).

Backs: Damian de Allende (centre), Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf), Cheslin Kolbe (wing), Willie le Roux (fullback), Handre Pollard (flyhalf), Grant Williams (scrumhalf).

READ |  Rassie Erasmus won’t travel with Springboks

Rugby news
South Africa’s director of rugby Rassie Erasmus conducts a press conference at the Southern Sun Hotel in Pretoria on June 14, 2023 ahead of the upcoming Rugby Championship in July, 2023. (Photo by Phill Magakoe / AFP)

CONFIRMED: World Cup dream over for this Springbok stalwart