The Springboks in a huddle Ireland Test

The Springboks in a huddle. Image: X

Exact time Springbok squad for Ireland series will be named

Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus is set to name a streamlined first-choice squad for the Incoming Series on Tuesday.

The Springboks in a huddle Ireland Test

The Springboks in a huddle. Image: X

After kicking off the season with a win over Wales, the Springboks were due to arrive in Johannesburg in the early hours of Tuesday morning.

Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus will then announce his squad for the Incoming Series, which includes two highly anticipated Tests against Ireland.

It has now been confirmed that this squad will be named at midday on Tuesday, 25 June.

This squad is set to include a host of overseas-based stars who were not available for the Wales Test, while some newcomers who were included in the wider group are now likely to be released.

Ultimately, this will be as close to a full-strength Springbok squad as possible, while it will be interesting to see whether there are any surprise inclusions.

It’s also worth noting that several Bulls players will also come into the mix after they were ruled out of contention for the Wales Test due to their involvement in the URC final.

Springboks set for a big test against Ireland

Erasmus said the medical team would assess all injuries, both in the Springbok camp and that of the Bulls, before finalising their squad for the Incoming Series.

Unfortunately it has already been revealed that talented Bulls No 8 Cameron Hanekom suffered a hamstring injury in the URC final. He is now unlikely to be available for the two upcoming Tests against Ireland.

After the two-Test series against Ireland, the Springboks will then play a historic match against Portugal in the Incoming Series before the Rugby Championship commences.

Meanwhile, for Ireland, it was recently confirmed that scrumhalf Jamison Gibson-Park will miss the series against world champions South Africa next month, with Jack Conan also absent from the squad announced.

First-choice number nine Gibson-Park is ruled out by a hamstring injury, while Leinster team-mate Conan is unavailable for personal reasons.

“Travelling to South Africa to play a Test series against the defending world champions provides no greater test for us, and it is another valuable opportunity for us to further grow and develop from the Guinness Six Nations,” said head coach Farrell.

“The group understands the need to hit the ground running, ensuring we are the best version of ourselves for the challenge ahead.”


Forwards: Ryan Baird, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Beirne, Caelan Doris, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Cormac Izuchukwu, Oli Jager, Ronan Kelleher, Joe McCarthy, Peter O’Mahony (captain), Tom O’Toole, Andrew Porter, Cian Prendergast, James Ryan, Dan Sheehan, Nick Timoney, Josh van der Flier

Backs: Bundee Aki, Caolin Blade, Craig Casey, Jack Crowley, Ciaran Frawley, Robbie Henshaw, Jordan Larmour, James Lowe, Stuart McCloskey, Conor Murray, Calvin Nash, Jimmy O’Brien, Jamie Osborne, Sam Prendergast, Garry Ringrose, Jacob Stockdale