Matias Osadczuk of Argentina scores a try. Photo: Shaun Roy/BackpagePix

NZ Sevens highlights: Blitzboks seventh as Pumas shock All Blacks

Watch as Argentina stun the All Blacks to win the World Rugby Sevens Series New Zealand leg in Hamilton with a sensational upset.


Matias Osadczuk of Argentina scores a try. Photo: Shaun Roy/BackpagePix

Argentina claimed a stunning New Zealand Sevens title with a shock victory over the hosts in the final.

The Pumas fought back from 12-0 down to win the men’s Cup final 14-12.

Pumas shock the All Blacks

Argentina’s Gaston Revol said: “This is just amazing, we have worked so hard for this.

“To beat New Zealand in New Zealand is the ultimate and the team never knew when they were beaten, everyone put in a lot of effort.”

The man of the match in the final, Rodrigo Isgro added: “This team just works so hard, what a feeling.”

Results in Hamilton mean that New Zealand now lead the World Rugby Sevens Series standings on 63 points with USA second on 61 points and Argentina third on 59 points.

France were 14-10 up over USA heading into the final minutes of the bronze final. However, it was the Eagles who managed to medal after a winning five-pointer from Ben Broselle.

Theo Forner and William Iraguha scored converted tries for France, but Aaron Cummings, David Still and Broselle did the job for the Americans as they edged it 15-14.

It was the USA’s second bronze in four events, backing up their third place in Cape Town last time out.

Blitzboks take seventh after last eight loss

France had shocked the Blitzboks in the quarter-finals.

Blitzboks beaten at Hamilton Sevens
Shilton van Wyk on the run at the Hamilton Sevens.

Jonathan Laugel led the way for the French in that one with a try double and, next up, Argentina defeated Fiji 19-10.

Agustin Fraga, Luciano Gonzalez and Marcos Moneta were the Argentina try scorers with Santiago Vera Feld kicking two conversions.

Malacchi Esdale, Steve Tomasin, David Still and Perry Baker all scored converted tries for USA in quarter-final number three to get the better of Australia 28-14.

New Zealand and Ireland then played out a cracker.

Aaron O’Sullivan’s try after a minute had the Irish ahead, but Sam Dickson’s unconverted effort made it 5-5 at the break.

After a scoreless six minutes or so after the interval, Brady Rush then popped up with a crucial five-pointer to see New Zealand through.

New Zealand had no such issues in the first semi-final, with Leroy Carter (2), Regan Ware, Akuila Rokolisoa (2) and Roderick Solo their try scorers as they swept past France 38-0.

Semi-final number two was closer, but Argentina had too much for USA and won 24-14.

Gonzalez, Moneta, Santiago Alvarez and Matías Osadczuk scored their tries in a 24-14 victory.