Seabelo Senatla Stormers

Seabelo Senatla. Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images.

Senatla and Specman to face off in WP-Cheetahs clash

Former sevens stars Rosko Specman and Seabelo Senatla have both been named to start for the Cheetahs and WP XV in the Toyota Challenge.

Seabelo Senatla Stormers

Seabelo Senatla. Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images.

Senatla makes his return from injury in a youthful Western Province XV that has been selected to take on a strong Cheetahs side in the Toyota Challenge in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Three Western Province U20 players have been named in the starting lineup, with a further four on an extended replacements bench for the encounter which kicks off at 17h30 on Saturday.

Senatla, who has endured a torrid with injuries this year, will start in a back three which also features Tristan Leyds and Leolin Zas.

Junior Springbok flyhalf Sacha Mngomezulu will have centres Rikus Pretorius and Cornel Smit outside him, with the experienced Godlen Masimla as his halfback partner.

The loose trio will feature the hard-working pair of Marcel Theunissen and captain Nama Xaba, along with the versatile JJ Kotze who gets a run on the flank.

U20 locks Dylan de Leeuw and Connor Evans will pack down behind a front row of Sazi Sandi, Andre-Hugo Venter and Leon Lyons.

Meanwhile, Specman will start on the left wing in a new-look backline for the Cheetahs that also has Siya Masuku at flyhalf and new recruit Daniel Kasende on the right wing.


Aidon Davis will captain the Cheetahs at No 8, alongside on-loan Sharks flank Thembelani Bholi and Gideon van der Merwe, who has joined from Griquas.

Another couple of players on loan from the Sharks – tighthead prop Hanru Jacobs and lock Jeandre Labuschagne – are on the bench.

Cheetahs – 15 Cohen Jasper, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 David Brits, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Siyabonga Masuku, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Aidon Davis (c), 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Victor Sekekete, 3 Jacobus van Vuuren, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Aluluthu Tshakweni.
Subs: 16 Marnus van der Merwe, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Hanru Jacobs, 19 Jeandré Labuschagne, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Zinedine Booysen, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Evardi Boshoff.

DHL Western Province XV: 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Cornel Smit, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Sacha Mngomezulu, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Marcel Theunissen, 7 Nama Xaba (captain), 6 JJ Kotze, 5 Dylan de Leeuw, 4 Connor Evans, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Leon Lyons.
Replacements (from): 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Jarrod Taylor, 20 Romauld Ntumba, 21 Simon Miller, 22 Thomas Bursey, 23 Paschal Ekeji, 24 Mambo Mkhize, 25 Litha Nkula.