France Springboks

Franco Mostert in action. Photo: EPA/SEBASTIEN NOGIER

Springboks have never lost to France at a RWC: Check the record

Will history repeat itself when the Springboks face france at Stade De France in the Rugby World Cup on Sunday.

France Springboks

Franco Mostert in action. Photo: EPA/SEBASTIEN NOGIER

Of all the meetings between the Springboks and France only one match has come at the Rugby World Cup.

The last meeting between the nations saw France snap a seven-match losing streak against the Springboks when they beat 14-man South Africa in Paris in November 2022.

ALSO READ: How do the rankings work during Rugby World Cup?

In the 21 Tests played between the two nations, France have come out on top only six times with one draw and 14 wins for the Springboks.

Springboks have never lost to France at RWC

ALSO READ: Lukhanyo Am set for Springboks return despite ‘unfair’ claim

The only Rugby World Cup meeting between the nations was the famous 1995 semi-final in Durban.

After a torrential downpour left Kings Park, sodden there was a race against time to get the players onto the pitch or the Springboks would face elimination from the tournament over their disciplinary record following the sending off of James Dalton against Canada.

ALSO READ: Who is really to blame for South Africa’s WADA woes?

However, the match went ahead on a soggy pitch and while memorable it was far from a classic game of rugby.

The Springboks held off a late France surge to win 19-15. The victory would kick off a five-match winning streak over France.

ALSO READ: The Rassie Erasmus claim that changes everything about the RWC quarters

France have never scored more than 32 points in their matches against South Africa on home soil. Meanwhile, the Springboks biggest score in France was in their 52-10 win at the Parc des Princes.

There have been 45 Tests between France an South Africa since their first meeting on 11 January 1913 at Parc Lescure in Bordeaux.

The Springboks have won three of their last four matches against France at the Stade de France.

Test record

111 January 1913Parc Lescure, Bordeaux5–38South Africa
216 February 1952Stade Olympique Yves-du-Manoir, Colombes3–25South Africa
326 July 1958Newlands Stadium, Cape Town3–3draw
416 August 1958Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg5–9France
518 February 1961Stade Olympique Yves-du-Manoir, Colombes0–0draw
625 July 1964Pam Brink Stadium, Springs6–8France
715 July 1967Kings Park Stadium, Durban26–3South Africa
822 July 1967Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein16–3South Africa
929 July 1967Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg14–19France
1012 August 1967Newlands Stadium, Cape Town6–6draw
119 November 1968Parc Lescure, Bordeaux9–12South Africa
1216 November 1968Stade Olympique Yves-du-Manoir, Colombes11–16South Africa
1312 June 1971Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein22–9South Africa
1419 June 1971Kings Park Stadium, Durban8–8draw
1523 November 1974Stadium Municipal, Toulouse4–13South Africa
1630 November 1974Parc des Princes, Paris8–10South Africa
1721 June 1975Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein38–25South Africa
1828 June 1975Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria33–18South Africa
198 November 1980Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria37–15South Africa
2017 October 1992Stade de Gerland, Lyon15–20South Africa
2124 October 1992Parc des Princes, Paris29–16France
2226 June 1993Kings Park Stadium, Durban20–20draw
233 July 1993Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg17–18France
2417 June 1995Kings Park Stadium, Durban19–15South Africa
2530 November 1996Parc Lescure, Bordeaux12–22 South Africa
267 December 1996Parc des Princes, Paris12–13 South Africa
2715 November 1997Stade de Gerland, Lyon32–36 South Africa
2822 November 1997Parc des Princes, Paris10–52 South Africa
2916 June 2001Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg23–32 France
3023 June 2001Kings Park Stadium, Durban20–15 South Africa
3110 November 2001Stade de France, Saint-Denis20–10 France
329 November 2002Stade Vélodrome, Marseille30–10 France
3318 June 2005Kings Park Stadium, Durban30–30draw
3425 June 2005Boet Erasmus Stadium, Port Elizabeth27–13 South Africa
3526 November 2005Stade de France, Saint-Denis26–20 France
3624 June 2006Newlands Stadium, Cape Town26–36 France
3713 November 2009Stadium Municipal, Toulouse20–13 France
3812 June 2010Newlands Stadium, Cape Town42–17 South Africa
3923 November 2013Stade de France, Saint-Denis10–19 South Africa
4010 June 2017Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria37–14 South Africa
4117 June 2017Kings Park Stadium, Durban37–15 South Africa
4224 June 2017Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg35–12 South Africa
4318 November 2017Stade de France, Saint-Denis17–18 South Africa
4410 November 2018Stade de France, Saint-Denis26–29 South Africa
4512 November 2022Stade Vélodrome, Marseille30–26 France