Louis Oosthuizen

Louis Oosthuizen Stinger GC captain LIV Golf League. Image: X @stingergc_

LIV Golf League: How much the South African quartet won in Nashville

England’s Tyrrell Hatton fired a six-under par 65 in Sunday’s final round to capture the title at LIV Golf Nashville.

Louis Oosthuizen

Louis Oosthuizen Stinger GC captain LIV Golf League. Image: X @stingergc_

England’s Tyrrell Hatton fired a six-under par 65 in Sunday’s final round to capture LIV Golf Nashville, winning his first title since jumping to the Saudi-backed series in January.

Hatton finished on 19-under 194 after 54 holes at The Grove to defeat compatriot Sam Horsfeld by six strokes.

The 32-year-old Englishman birdied three of the last five holes and had eight birdies and two bogeys in capturing the title – and the $4 million top prize.

A third-place pack on 12-under included Chile’s Joaquin Niemann, Spain’s Jon Rahm, England’s Lee Westwood and Bryson DeChambeau – who won his second major title a week ago at the US Open at Pinehurst.

Tyrrell Hatton’s Legion XIII won the team competition

The victory marked the first professional title for Hatton since the January 2021 Abu Dhabi Championship, the most recent of his six DP World Tour triumphs.

Hatton’s lone PGA Tour victory came at the 2020 Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill.

Niemann remains the overall LIV Golf season leader followed by Rahm with Hatton in third.

In the team competition, Hatton and Rahm led Legion XIII to victory at 40-under par, defeating DeChambeau’s Crushers by five strokes.

Crushers remained just ahead of Legion atop the season team standings.

The next LIV Golf event is in Spain at Valderrama on July 12-14.

Meanwhile, it wasn’t the best of weekends for the four South Africans who make up the Stinger GC team.

Louis Oosthuizen finished 13th and won $340 000 (R6.15 million).

Charl Schwartzel and Dean Burmester finished in a tie for 25th place and banked $180 000 (R3.25 million) each.

Branden Grace completed the 54 holes in three-under par which was good enough for a share of 35th place and $142 800 (R2.58 million).

Individual prize money

1Tyrrell Hatton-19$4,000,000
2Sam Horsfield-13$2,250,000
T3Joaquín Niemann-12$1,000,000
T3Lee Westwood-12$1,000,000
T3Jon Rahm-12$1,000,000
T3Bryson DeChambeau-12$1,000,000
T7Sebastian Munoz-11$562,500
T7John Catlin-11$562,500
T9Paul Casey-10$396,875
T9Richard Bland-10$396,875
T9Cameron Smith-10$396,875
T9Carlos Ortiz-10$396,875
13Louis Oosthuizen-9$340,000
T14Pat Perez-8$310,000
T14Brendan Steele-8$310,000
T16Matthew Wolff-7$277,500
T16Harold Varner III-7$277,500
T18Sergio Garcia-6$230,000
T18Abraham Ancer-6$230,000
T18Anirban Lahiri-6$230,000
T18Marc Leishman-6$230,000
T18Kieran Vincent-6$230,000
T18Eugenio Chacarra-6$230,000
T18Jason Kokrak-6$230,000
T25Charl Schwartzel-5$180,000
T25Caleb Surratt-5$180,000
T25Ian Poulter-5$180,000
T25Henrik Stenson-5$180,000
T25Dean Burmester-5$180,000
T25Kevin Na-5$180,000
T25Scott Vincent-5$180,000
T32Patrick Reed-4$155,000
T32Thomas Pieters-4$155,000
T32Adrian Meronk-4$155,000
T35Cameron Tringale-3$142,800
T35Bubba Watson-3$142,800
T35Hudson Swafford-3$142,800
T35Branden Grace-3$142,800
T35Mito Pereira-3$142,800
T40Matt Jones-2$134,000
T40Phil Mickelson-2$134,000
T42Graeme McDowell-1$127,750
T42Brooks Koepka-1$127,750
T42Talor Gooch-1$127,750
T42Martin Kaymer-1$127,750
T46Anthony KimE$124,000
T46Jinichiro KozumaE$124,000
48Lucas Herbert1$120,000
49Andy Ogletree2$60,000
50Peter Uihlein3$60,000
T51Kalle Samooja4$53,333
T51Dustin Johnson4$53,333
T51David Puig4$53,333
54Danny Lee5$50,000

Team prize money

1Legion XIII-40$3,000,000
2Crushers GC-35$1,500,000
3Torque GC-34$750,000