Proteas Cricket T20 World Cup

South Africa’s Aiden Markram plays a shot. Photo: AFP

When do the Proteas play next in the T20 World Cup?

The Proteas have reached the Super 8 stage of the T20 World Cup. Here is when the team will next be in action this week.

Proteas Cricket T20 World Cup

South Africa’s Aiden Markram plays a shot. Photo: AFP

The Proteas are still unbeaten at the T20 World Cup, but it has been far from convincing during the pool stages, with each victory proving to be extremely hard fought.

Nevertheless, the team has found a way to get the job done, and have now reached the Super 8 stage of the tournament. The Proteas next face the United States on Wednesday.

Play starts at 16:30 (SA time).

Reminder of what’s now in store for the Proteas at the T20 World Cup

The Super 8s are divided into two groups of four, based on pre-tournament seeding, and again each team plays the others in their group once, with the top two reaching the semi-finals. 

In the semi-finals, the winner of Group 1 plays the runner-up in Group 2, and vice versa, to determine the two finalists.

After playing the United States, the Proteas will then take on England before a final Super 8 game against the West Indies.


Match SeedingFixtureGroupDateTime (SAST)Venue
A2 vs D1USA vs South AfricaGroup 2June 1916:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B1 vs C2England vs West IndiesGroup 2June 2002:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
C1 vs A1Afghanistan vs IndiaGroup 1June 2016:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
B2 vs D2Australia vs D2Group 1June 2102:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B1 vs D1England vs South AfricaGroup 2June 2116:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
A2 vs C2USA vs West IndiesGroup 2June 2202:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
A1 vs D2India vs D2Group 1June 2216:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
C1 vs B2Afghanistan vs AustraliaGroup 1June 2302:30Arnos Vale Stadium, Saint Vincent
A2 vs B1USA vs EnglandGroup 2June 2316:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
C2 vs D1West Indies vs South AfricaGroup 2June 2402:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B2 vs A1Australia vs IndiaGroup 1June 2416:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
C1 vs D2Afghanistan vs D2Group 1June 2502:30Arnos Vale Stadium, Saint Vincent


Aiden Markram (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions) Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans) and Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors).

You can check out all the squads here, with the Proteas boasting one of the strongest playing groups at the T20 World Cup.