David Miller Proteas T20 World Cup

David Miller of South Africa celebrates. Image: ROBERT CIANFLONE / AFP

LIVE SCORING | Proteas v Bangladesh: T20 World Cup

Keep track of the live scoring as the Proteas take on Bangladesh in the third game of their T20 World Cup campaign on Monday.

David Miller Proteas T20 World Cup

David Miller of South Africa celebrates. Image: ROBERT CIANFLONE / AFP

The Proteas have begun the T20 World Cup with important wins over Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, although neither game has been a walk in the park, largely due to an extremely two-paced pitch in New York.

Nevertheless, South Africa have found a way to get the job done, and now a win against Bangladesh would book a spot in the Super 8s with a game to spare in Group D.

Proteas captain Aiden Markram said the team was fully focused on making sure of their early progress to the next crucial phase of the competition.

“That’s sort of the first box that we want to tick,” Markram said. “You look at conditions, you look at a really strong Bangladesh team, and it’s going to be a proper challenge for us.

“We’ve luckily had the privilege of playing two games now on the surface and at this venue, so hopefully, that can give us even clearer plans.

“We can develop plans from a batting point of view as to how to get to a score of maybe about 140 if we do bat first, and hopefully then our bowlers can do the rest.”


Reminder: Round-Robins and playoffs explained

There are 20 teams participating in the tournament, divided into four groups of five for the initial round-robin format.

Group A – India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B – England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C – New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D – South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Each team will play the other teams in their group once, with the top two teams in each group moving on to the Super 8s.

The Super 8s will also be divided into two groups of four, based on pre-tournament seeding, and again each team plays the others in their group once, with the top two reaching the semi-finals. 

In the semi-finals, the winner of Group 1 plays the runner-up in Group 2, and vice versa, to determine the two finalists.

remaining early group phase fixtures:

Monday, 10 June: Bangladesh, South Africa, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

Friday, 14 June: Nepal v South Africa, Arnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St Vincent