The Proteas are ready to begin their T20 World Cup

The Proteas hace reached the T20 World Cup semi-finals. Image: Facebook

LIVE SCORING | Proteas v USA: T20 World Cup Super 8

Keep track of the live scoring as the Proteas take on the USA in a crucial Super 8 game in the T20 World Cup on Wednesday.

The Proteas are ready to begin their T20 World Cup

The Proteas hace reached the T20 World Cup semi-finals. Image: Facebook

The Protea have reached the crucial next stage of the T20 World Cup, having gone unbeaten through the group phase, and will now turn attention to a key Super 8 game against co-hosts USA.

Play on Wednesday starts at 16:30 (SA time) at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda.

The USA have made history by reaching the Super 8s, having overcome former champions Pakistan in the first-round group stage, a result which helped propel the Americans into the second stage of the tournament.

“They have been really good. A lot of people will say ‘smaller nation’, but they’re not and they’ve proved that they’re not anymore,” Proteas captain Aiden Markram stated.

“So, we’re going to 100 per cent have to be on our best game for things to go well, but I’m excited for that challenge.”

Proteas Super 8 fixtures (SA times)

Wednesday 19 June – USA v South Africa at 16:30

Friday 21 June – South Africa v England at 16:30

Monday 24 June – West Indies v South Africa at 02:30

You can follow the Proteas’ live scoring at the T20 World Cup below:


The Super 8s are divided into two groups of four, based on pre-tournament seeding, and again each team plays the others in their group once, with the top two reaching the semi-finals. 

In the semi-finals, the winner of Group 1 plays the runner-up in Group 2, and vice versa, to determine the two finalists.

After playing the United States, the Proteas will then take on England before a final Super 8 game against the West Indies.


Match SeedingFixtureGroupDateTime (SAST)Venue
A2 vs D1USA vs South AfricaGroup 2June 1916:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B1 vs C2England vs West IndiesGroup 2June 2002:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
C1 vs A1Afghanistan vs IndiaGroup 1June 2016:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
B2 vs D2Australia vs D2Group 1June 2102:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B1 vs D1England vs South AfricaGroup 2June 2116:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
A2 vs C2USA vs West IndiesGroup 2June 2202:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
A1 vs D2India vs D2Group 1June 2216:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
C1 vs B2Afghanistan vs AustraliaGroup 1June 2302:30Arnos Vale Stadium, Saint Vincent
A2 vs B1USA vs EnglandGroup 2June 2316:30Kensington Oval, Barbados
C2 vs D1West Indies vs South AfricaGroup 2June 2402:30Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
B2 vs A1Australia vs IndiaGroup 1June 2416:30Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Saint Lucia
C1 vs D2Afghanistan vs D2Group 1June 2502:30Arnos Vale Stadium, Saint Vincent


Aiden Markram (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions) Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans) and Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors).

You can check out all the squads here, with the Proteas boasting one of the strongest playing groups at the T20 World Cup.