Dale Steyn Proteas MCC

Sri Lanka batsman Angelo Mathews became the first player to be given “timed out” in the history of international cricket on Monday. Photo: BackpagePix

MCC bestows Honorary Life Membership on Proteas great Dale Steyn

The MCC has revealed the names of the latest men and women to have been bestowed the privilege of Honorary Life Membership.

Dale Steyn Proteas MCC

Sri Lanka batsman Angelo Mathews became the first player to be given “timed out” in the history of international cricket on Monday. Photo: BackpagePix

The MCC awards Honorary Life Membership of the club to some of the world’s finest cricketers and on Wednesday revealed the names of the latest men and women to have been bestowed with this privilege.

ALSO READ: IPL back on South African screens thanks to last-minute deal

The 17-strong list included one former Proteas great, Dale Steyn, and another South Africa-born England star, Kevin Pietersen.

Merissa Aguilleira – West Indies (2008–2019)
M.S. Dhoni – India (2004–2019)
Jhulan Goswami – India (2002-2022)
Jenny Gunn – England (2004-2019)
Muhammad Hafeez – Pakistan (2003-2021)
Rachael Haynes – Australia (2009-2022)
Laura Marsh – England (2006–2019)
Eoin Morgan – England (2006-2022)
Mashrafe Mortaza – Bangladesh (2001-2020)
Kevin Pietersen – England (2005-2014)
Suresh Raina – India (2005-2018)
Mithali Raj – India (1999-2022)
Amy Satterthwaite – New Zealand (2007-2022)
Yuvraj Singh – India (2000-2017)
Anya Shrubsole – England (2008-2022)
Dale Steyn – South Africa (2004–2020)
Ross Taylor – New Zealand (2006-2022)

The club has also awarded a further two Honorary Life Memberships for non-playing contributions to the game.

ALSO READ: Boucher a fan of new IPL rules

Eight of the 12 Test-playing nations are represented within this year’s list, which includes some of the most recognisable names in the modern game.

Eoin Morgan lifted the ICC Men’s World Cup for England at Lord’s in 2019, two years after Jenny GunnLaura Marsh and Anya Shrubsole had helped England defeat India in the ICC Women’s World Cup final at the same venue. 

MUST READ | IPL 2023: Teams, captains, key players – and MORE

Kevin Pietersen, who won the Ashes four times and was Player of the Tournament in England’s 2010 ICC Men’s World T20 win, completes the quintet of English players.

Five Indian players have been recognised with Honorary Life Membership. Jhulan Goswami, who bowed out from internationals in the England v India Women’s One-Day International at Lord’s last year, is the leading wicket-taker in Women’s ODIs whilst Mithali Raj heads the run-scoring list with 7,805 in 211 innings.

M.S. Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh were both integral parts of the India side which won the 2007 ICC Men’s World T20 and the 2011 ICC Men’s World Cup, and Suresh Raina scored over 5,500 ODI runs across a 13-year career.

There are five players who are sole representatives of their countries on this year’s list. Merissa Aguilleira represented West Indies with distinction as a wicketkeeper-batter, whilst Mashrafe Mortaza enjoyed a 19-year career with Bangladesh as an impactful bowling all-rounder.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023 – Which Proteas are in action

Pakistan’s Mohammad Hafeez represented his country almost 400 times across the three international formats of the game, most regularly as an opening bat, and South Africa’s Dale Steyn is recognised as one of the finest fast bowlers of his generation, taking 439 Test wickets.

Australia top order batter Rachael Haynes won six ICC tournaments with her country in a 13-year international career, as well as Gold in the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

Kiwi duo Amy Satterthwaite and Ross Taylor complete the list. The former played 145 ODIs for New Zealand, scoring over 4,500 runs in the process, whilst Taylor is regarded has one of their greatest men’s batters, helping them to win the inaugural ICC World Test Championship in 2021.

In the non-playing related categories, Dr Jane Powell has enjoyed a lifelong involvement in the game as both a player and coach and was appointed as Disability Performance Manager at ECB last year.

Medha Laud has dedicated her entire working life to the game and has spent over three decades working closely with England teams. She was awarded an MBE in 2005 for services to cricket.

MCC’s Cricket committee considers the nomination of cricketers for Honorary Life Membership, recognising the outstanding international careers of some of the greats of the game. Honorary Life Membership is also awarded to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to MCC or to the game in general.

Once approved by the MCC Committee, letters of invitation are sent to the individual to accept. There is no set number per year. Nominees can accept and be granted the honour at any time.

The last cohort was revealed in October 2021 when 18 former international players were announced, including Sir Alastair Cook, Jacques Kallis, Harbhajan Singh and Sarah Taylor.