KZN Talibans DA

The newly elected ANC KZN Chairperson, Siboniso Duma. Image via Twitter/@joy_zelda

‘Talibans have taken over’: DA slams new KZN MECs

The DA in KZN has slammed the new MECs announced by Premier Nomusa Dube-Ncube saying the Taliban faction is taking over everything.

KZN Talibans DA

The newly elected ANC KZN Chairperson, Siboniso Duma. Image via Twitter/@joy_zelda

The Democratic Alliance (DA) in KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) has criticised the new cabinet announced by Premier Nomusa Dube-Ncube saying it is a clear sign that the Taliban faction has taken control of the ANC and the legislature. 

On Thursday, 11 August, Dube Ncube announced the new members of the Provincial Executive Committee. Notably, they all belong to the Taliban faction with Sihle Zikalala making a comeback as COGTA MEC. 


The DA in KZN said the new cabinet is also a very strong indication that the interests of KZN people and the future of the province are not being placed ahead of party politics.

Furthermore, the party said while the ANC initially stated that there would be no purging of former MECs, a close look at the new line-up shows that four of the new MEC posts are members of the Taliban faction which “clearly means they have come to collect their dues.”

“Of particular concern to the DA is the appointment of two MECs despite the clouds of suspicion that remain hanging over their heads. One is new Human Settlements MEC, Ntuthuko Mahlaba who was accused of murder with the charges only dropped after a whistle-blower mysteriously died.

“Then there is Peggy Nkonyeni – one of the three Amigos – who has alarmingly been deployed as KZN’s new Finance MEC despite being linked to several suspicious transactions in the Zondo Commission.”


The DA also accused the ANC of failing to ensure that competent individuals with clean track records are appointed to positions of power. 

“MECs such as Bongiwe Sithole-Moloi in Agriculture and Nonhlanhla Khoza within Social Development are proof of this. Both of these Departments have failed dismally to reach their own objectives.”

Here are the new MECS:

  • Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs (EDTEA) – Siboniso Duma 
  • COGTA – Sihle Zikalala
  • Health – Nomagugu Simelane 
  • Social Development – Nonhlanhla Khoza
  • Human Settlement and Public Works – Dr Ntuthuko Mahlaba
  • Finance – Peggy Nkonyeni 
  • Agriculture and Rural Development – Bongi Sithole Moloi
  • Transport, Community Safety and Liaison – Sipho Hlomuka 
  • Education – Mbali Frazer 
  • Sports, Art and Culture – Amanda Ban

ALSO READ: From Premier to MEC? Sihle Zikalala to head KZN COGTA