Cyril Ramaphosa inauguration

Cyril Ramaphosa has been re-elected as president of South Africa. Image: GCIS

Inauguration Day is NOT a public holiday, confirms Presidency

The Presidency has reminded the public that Wednesday, 19 June – the day of the Presidential Inauguration – is a normal working day.

Cyril Ramaphosa inauguration

Cyril Ramaphosa has been re-elected as president of South Africa. Image: GCIS

The Presidency has reminded the public that Wednesday, 19 June – the day of the Presidential Inauguration – is a normal working day.

This as the Inauguration of President-elect Cyril Ramaphosa will take place at the Union Buildings in Pretoria, following his re-election by parliament on Friday, 14 June.

The ceremony will commence with an entertainment programme at 09:00, while the formal proceedings are scheduled to commence at 11:00.

ICYMI | All set for President Cyril Ramaphosa’s inauguration: How the day will unfold

People travelling to the event and to Pretoria on other business are advised to visit www.gov.za and www.tshwane.gov.za for information on road closures in the Rietondale/Arcadia area, and to follow traffic updates on radio and television broadcasts.

For a detailed report on road closures and free park-and-ride services, read: Road closures for Presidential inauguration and Free park and ride for the Presidential inauguration.

The swearing in of Ramaphosa will be conducted by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo in the Union Buildings’ Nelson Mandela Amphitheatre.

The ceremony will be witnessed by South African and international guests, including South African royalty, Members of Parliament, representatives of political parties, leaders of organised labour, business and civil society organisations, religious leaders and South Africans who have excelled in various capacities and endeavours.

Attendees will include representatives of regional, continental and international organisations and bodies such as the Southern African Development Community, the African Union (AU) and the United Nations. 

Talking of public holidays, here’s when South Africans will celebrate their next day off work.

The good news is it’s not far off – and it’s another long weekend!

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS IN 2024

Monday, 1 January: New Year’s Day

Thursday, 21 March: Human Rights Day

Friday, 29 March: Good Friday

Monday, 1 April: Family Day

Saturday, 27 April: Freedom Day

Wednesday, 1 May: Workers’ Day

Wednesday, 29 May: General elections

Sunday, 16 June: Youth Day

Monday, 17 June: Public holiday Youth Day observed

Friday, 9 August: National Women’s Day

Tuesday, 24 September: Heritage Day

Monday, 16 December: Day of Reconciliation

Wednesday, 25 December: Christmas Day

Thursday, 26 December: Day of Goodwill